Education logo

Biggest Race of the Chase

Entangled with Chaos

By Kim BoudreauPublished 2 years ago 5 min read

Ever feel like you are drowning, and yet you are not even near a body of water? Take me for example, I have always felt as if am living in a world that is completely blinded by one’s actions. People’s psyches have always caused me to wonder. Have you ever observed implication from an exterior perspective as if you were looking in through the mysterious water of an aquatic glass aquarium?

Even though I’ve never swam an ocean floor, been inside an actual aquarium, or even scuba-dived, I do like to visit aquariums. It’s quite soothing to watch the sea creatures in their natural habitat. Never visited the aquarium before, so I requested a tour guide. The information given throughout the tour was very informative. After visiting the underwater aquarium, I was able to reflect on the day. I enjoyed many things, one of them being how fascinated I was by the sharks. Majestic egotistical wanderers, king of the aquarium flourishing in his crownland, but what happens when you guide them out of their comfort zones?

I particularly enjoyed capturing the hammerhead shark. I have always found their unique oblong-shaped heads quite interesting. It almost reminds me of, and resembles a two-faced person in a way don’t you think? At another point within the tour, I watched the hammerhead shark suspensefully trail behind a dainty little sunfish. For some reason, the sunfish reminded me of me, and the shark reminded me of my ex-partner. Perhaps it was because of how stealthy the shark was trailing behind the sunfish waiting for that imperfect yet perfect moment to destruct. It was then, that I begin to think about what is it that sharks and my relationships have in common. Why is it that I attract such cold-blooded species? What is it about me? Much like the shark’s appetite, is it because I simulate the delicacy of the sunfish

I’ve heard that with unhealthy partnerships, predators often prey on those who are more vulnerable, sensitive, compassionate, empathetic, kind, caring in nature, authentic, and not to mention genuine. Not to say, I am perfect by any means, but I do portray most of, if not all these traits. Could that be what attracts them to me? The tour guide mentioned to me that sharks can sense a beating heart of a human from several miles away. SEVERAL MILES AWAY. That blew my mind. So that being said, is it because not only do I have a beating heart but a sincere one at that?

Much like the sunfish’s race to safety, my biggest race of the chase was when I was caught up in yet another chaotic entanglement. It wasn’t until the final days of my most recent relationship, after nearly drowning six feet under in defeat, that I could begin to fully understand what was unfolding before my eyes. Luckily, for me and the sunfish, it wasn’t too late as we both survived.

I have met and encountered various types of sharks outside the aquarium in my day. My ex-partner by far was the deadliest shark of them all. I must say, even though I had a sixth sense from the get-go, sensing danger and all, I for some strange reason chose to forego my fears and pursue such a relationship anyway.

Some people would say that sharks are easily identifiable, but I strongly would disagree with that. Don’t be fooled by their mellow attire, in my experience it was just a hoax to please, all the while he was maliciously preying on me as a delicacy to feast

Not only are sharks a very dangerous species, but their stealthiness also creates unpredictability. You never know when one is going to strike. Another thing the tour guide mentioned is that sharks are cannibalistic creatures, meaning they will eat their kind. While humans may not physically eat us, they can certainly eat away at us, stripping us down of all things. They prey on all your weaknesses, they hunt out all your flaws, and they hurt you in ways you thought were imaginable all in the power of mankind. They use intimidation tactics in attempts to control you. There is nothing more frightening than the evil grip of an angry shark attack.

Ever feel like you are equitably just exhausting yourself while circling the drain trying to simply express yourself? I have tirelessly trialed and tested, many different approaches when trying to disclose my most important thoughts and feelings to my human ex-shark. Have you ever spoken to someone with whom you believe you are making progress only to realize you have been bitten or attacked by a shark? For those of you who have, you know that it is the most unpleasant flesh-eating experience of a lifetime. It rips at your soul, clenches onto your heartstrings, squeezes at your lung's capacity to breathe, drains all your energy, and glares into your stomach's nervous system. Attacked by one, but feels like many.

Inside or outside of the aquarium sharks do exist. Aggressive in nature with a powerful force. They swim countless hours and boundless days with no goal intended to find and herd their prey. Be careful out there, in those aquatic waters, sharks can be overt, clever, and cruel. Before you know it, you can be easily entangled under their traitorous spell. You may feel helplessly twirled up in a net of no escape. You can easily feel the wrath of tidal waves coming at you with no intended direction. Tail-spinning lies, manipulating you with disguise.

Take my ex-partner, for instance, he exuded calmness in the beginning, but all the while he was circling out our shallower waters waiting for his imperfect yet perfect moment to prey on all my weaknesses. When trying to have an honest conversation with my human ex-shark he appeared much like a maverick. Self-centered, egotistical, and boastful. He never really took any of my thoughts or feelings into consideration. No matter how much I eagerly expressed or tried to explain myself to him, his thoughts were just too often narrow-minded. Like a shark, his only intent was his next revengful dish. When he felt threatened, he vastly acted differently from what one might expect. You want to see massive change; angry a shark, you will almost always be forced to behave. Once provoked, there was no turning back, that was it, the endless game had begun. Self defenseless, I was stuck in my aquarium looking into scary, dark shark teeth and eyes.

Fighting tirelessly, I made it out of my confined aquarium alive, I can finally begin to breathe again and speak freely as I am no longer tied to his unjust certainty. Still wanting to make sense of the whole thrill-seeking adventure, I investigate sharks further. What I’ve learned through observations is that sharks gloat in their pride, and anyone who dare gets in the way of breaching their privacy is ultimately facing a deep and disturbing water’s edge. Arguably so, at that point, you may have gone too far and are risking your life beyond return.

Be warned, when entering the aquarium, and swimming with sharks you are almost always nearing and weathering storms. Braving the unknown aquatic waters while enchanting chaotic entanglements, was my biggest chase of a lifetime. Catasphoric events, unprepared to see the rage on his face. So next time, you think you see a shark, ask yourselves, is it worth the big race to extinction for the chase of mankind?

bullying

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KBWritten by Kim Boudreau

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.