Education logo

Are Children Being Sacrificed to Gun Violence in Schools?

A unified plan can limit the bloodshed

By Brenda MahlerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
1
Image from FreeBible images.

American schools are more than institutions; they represent a way of life. They support daily survival for many children and provide a lifeline to a better future.

As with any institution, individuals group together to support the whole, each fulfilling different responsibilities. Teachers strive on the production line to turn out responsible, educated students who become functioning citizens.

Unfortunately, teachers are being emotionally ripped apart in their attempts to do their jobs. As teachers strive to meet the needs of students, we simultaneously are expected to satisfy the various desires of stakeholders.

Current events prompt memories of the Bible story when King Solomon ordered an infant be cut in half. Since the king didn’t know which of two women spoke the truth when both claimed to be the mother of a baby, his solution was to split it between the two.

In an effort to appease everyone, public education is failing.

Following hours of meetings collecting input, government and school leaders are arriving at different conclusions. They considered multiple possibilities resulting in various solutions.

Politicians are arguing; citizens are issuing contradicting expectations; phycologists proclaim differing beliefs; all offering conflicting advice.

Answers seem elusive because of politics which debates gun violence. When in fact, there are proven strategies to limit the amount of blood shed. I am not taking about gun control because that is a discussion that will never end in agreement. Instead, investigate proven, successful school safety measures.

  • Why do different schools have varying procedures?
  • Why does on school stop a shooter at the front door while another allows killing to occur for extended periods?
  • Why do some schools still have unlocked doors and others are fortresses of protections?

There exists an absence of unifying leadership. Teachers are only some of the victims; however, as the boots on the ground, they deserve unified directions. They will be asked to enforce mandates that vary by location — It is understandable why parents are frustrated.

In industry, proved procedures exist to maintain financial stability. Within each factory, modifications occur to accommodate and promote success. In the interest of safety and output success, overriding and consistent protocols are essential. Why would education be different? Why should be expect less?

Call to action

Petition elected officials to establish protocols for public schools on a statewide - nationwide basis. Sure, differences exist between districts, but uniformity is crucial to address the current crises. Implement a structured procedure of active listening.

As adults argue, complain and dispute districts’ decisions, they model violent attitudes, eliminate opportunities for consensus and demonstrate unproductive models for the children. Though the absence of input would be detrimental, attempts to please everyone will only result in the erosion of public education. Establish the craft of compromise.

There is a time for civil disobedience, but if teachers are to be empowered to teach and children are going to learn, mutual respect and a unified plan is essential. Develop a system to process input in a respectful manner.

The news broadcasts adults yelling in the streets, issuing threats and demands. It is time for leaders to take input in an organized manner and make sound decisions. It is important to speak up to be heard, but it is just as important to listen. Then decisions must be made based on logical thinking and supported by facts.

There was a time King Solomon’s strategy for decision making proved effective because people all valued the life of a child, but in the 2023, the year of information and technology, responsible leaders must make consistent, responsible decision to create safe environments for all children.

With a void in leadership, teachers and children are being sacrificed.

Arguments rage about how to protect our children. They will continue because society cannot agree: gun control? mental health? interventions? 

I don't know.

What I do believe is that until we begin to try to understand America's Youth, we will never understand the problem of gun violence. 

After 34 years of teaching, I gathered all my writings about students into one book. Each character shares an individual's story through their own words - what I think they would want to say if anyone was listening. 

Mickey Slotham

A warrior of notoriety, to be battled,

bowed to, and conquered

Equipped with weapons:

swords, artillery, rapiers, and bludgeons

I lead because they follow

In this world, I am

more than a student, son, or brother

I create my world by leveling up

purchasing the weapons of protection

and using isolation to conceal my mortality

Each friend and foe has an identity

We never meet face to face

At least not in our mortal form

because in the screen, we are immortal

My anonymity provides my armor

So that when defeated or disgraced

I can remain a strong, proud opponent

by reinventing myself and building a new identity

People, who think they know me, call me Mickey

It is in this world of flesh and blood,

lacking anonymity, that I feel pain through

the stab of words, stares and accusing looks

Beyond the screen is my existence

I am Mardig, a world warrior

Laura Smits

Amazing Grace how sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me

Dad’s in jail; Mom’s in the ground

Now, they will let me be

I once was lost but now I’m found

Was blind but now I see

My body lacks a heart that pounds

My lungs can finally breathe

T’was fear that caused my heart to break

And fears are now no more

I search for ways to heal the ache

Gone’s all feeling at my core

Now, I’m a leaf without a stem

To attach me to a tree

A barren branch; unfruitful limbs

I look up from on my knees

Standing open is a door

A call to walk on through

A brand-new day, a chance to soar

As fresh as the morning dew

Christie Ehlers

It will be nice to get away from these halls

eyes watch

mouths label:

Jocks, Goths, Intellects, Slackers, Players

Geeks, Gays, Hipsters, Preps, Gamers

It doesn’t matter to me what color people are

What they do or

Who they do it with

Grams says,

“Hearts like doors open with ease

When you say thank you

and if you say please.”

She also taught me it’s best to forgive,

“Do unto others as you

would want them

to do unto you.”

Grams is smart

for someone who never attended

school past fifth grade,

“A smile is the one thing that multiplies

when you give it away.”

So, I compliment other students

Thank teachers

Show kindness

Forgive

And smile

Ken Lee

He says to call him Dad

Like hell I will

A dad is supposed to care about their kid

John doesn’t care about me

I don’t give a damn about him

Apparently, Mom cares about him

I sure don’t know why

After beating her almost daily,

she supports his behavior

Even testified on his behalf in court

The old man is getting what he deserves

Mom is waiting to welcome him home

Not me

I am outta here

Gone

Kendall says I can crash at her house

Graviet’s place is an option

I want to see Dad - my real dad

I haven’t seen him in ten years, but he never hit me

Maybe he has an extra bed

____________________________________________________

If you wish to read their stories, they are available on Amazon.

Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

how topop culture
1

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohamed Jakkathabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing this thought-provoking article about the issue of gun violence in schools. It is heart-wrenching to think about the children and teachers who have been victims of school shootings, and it is important to address this crisis with a unified plan. Your call to action for elected officials to establish protocols for public schools on a statewide - nationwide basis is a practical and necessary step to ensure a consistent and safe environment for students and teachers. Additionally, the idea of implementing a structured procedure of active listening is an excellent approach to hear the concerns of all stakeholders and work towards a common goal. It is essential to recognize the importance of compromise and mutual respect in finding solutions to this complex issue. The erosion of public education due to attempts to please everyone can be prevented by the establishment of a consistent, responsible plan to create safe environments for all children. Thank you for raising awareness and encouraging action on this critical issue.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.