Education logo

Answering Your FAQs About Grants Part 2

by Brittnei C. Leon

By Brittnei C. LeonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Brittnei C. Leon

If you haven't read my article, Answering Your FAQs About Grant part 1, It's suggested that you read that first before continuing here.

Okay! Answering Your FAQs About Grant part 2, in no particular order, here it goes:

How Can I Get Started with Novice Grant Writing & Peer Reviewing?

As the old saying goes "it's not about what you know, it's who you know". Volunteering is the start of expanding your network. Be honest with the Executive Directors/Nonprofit Leaders, they know you're new and will makes mistakes so they will cut you some slack and give you feedback.

Video Transcription: That’s why I feel like for a novice grant writer is your best bet. Just finding someone or a program that’s willing to say, “hey, I know you really don’t know anything about it. Let me tell you what I know or if you buy this course, it’ll have all the information you would need in order to make yourself successful.” As you [Rebecca] mentioned before, if you get a “no” I look at that as not right now.

LIMITED TIME OFFER: If you want to learn how to write grants with no filler or start your own grant writing consulting business CLICK HERE 👈 to download my Ebooks an 18$ value for the low, low cost of FREE 99

Grant Secrets ARE Waiting for YOU!! GET INSTANT ACCESS to my email list 👈 for more about grants and grant education.

Bridging the Gap: How Can I Be the Bridge?

Just like Sherlock Holmes, be the bridge to solving the case by looking for clues. You are the bridge between the funder and the organization - your proposal can make all the difference between getting your organization funded and not funded. How will your grant make a difference? How will your grant change the world? Or how will your grant improve the world?

Video Transcription: Bridging the Gap, you’re literally the bridge between that organization that needs funding and the funder themselves, then you bring them together. Also, if you don’t have the right proposal, unfortunately, you won’t get funded. Again, it’s about being persistent, it's about saying “okay, if they reject me what do I do? Or how do I make it better?” And, you can ask them –that’s the beauty of it. If you make a mistake, you can always ask what you did wrong and they will tell you how to fix it, then you can re-submit the same grant at the next cycle.

How Can I Get Connected to the Funders?

Unfortunately, in the grant world if the funder doesn't know you well enough then you won't get funded. Without connecting to the funders, you limit your chances. Get to know them What would you rather have: A grant that takes months to get funded? Or a grant you can practically get funded overnight?

Video Transcription: A grant writer has to make sure you are connected with the funder, build relationships with the funder and get funding that way.

...But Wait, There's MORE!!

That's all I have for now, I hope that I added some clarity for you getting started as a grant writer or grant education. If I can do it, so can you!! Honestly, your voyage may be rocky, but if you keep going you will have one heck of a story that may, one day, lead to your best seller. You Got This!!

Please drop me a line, leave a comment or contact me. I'd love to hear from you.

LIMITED TIME OFFER: If you want to learn how to write grants with no filler or start your own grant writing consulting business CLICK HERE 👈 to download my Ebooks an 18$ value for the low, low cost of FREE 99

Grant Secrets ARE Waiting for YOU!! GET INSTANT ACCESS to my email list 👈 for more about grants and grant education.

Want to see the full interview featuring myself and Rebecca Tuttle, M. Ed? Click Here 👈

GET INSTANT ACCESS NOW!! Join my email list 👈 or direct download 👈👈 my Ebooks.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Brittnei C. Leon

Certified Grant Writer, Consultant, & CEO of Write the Vision Plainly LLC. I provide Next level funding strategies to get grants and grant education to debunk myths

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.