Education logo

A Teacher's Love Letter

An Entry to The Love Unraveled Challenge

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
10
A Teacher's Love Letter
Photo by Ewa Pinkonhead on Unsplash

To My Future Preschoolers,

 

 

First, I want to welcome you to our program at PS Society. I am so excited that you will be joining me in the red room. We are going to have a lot of fun and learn a lot from one another during our time together. I think we are both going to learn a lot from each other.

 

So for our first lesson, I want to talk to you about a teacher’s love for her students. Although it sounds a bit bizarre and unconventional, all the best teachers love and cherish their students. Whether we want to admit it or not.

I know we are known for being strict, pushing you to the point of near breaking. Or reciting the same thing repeatedly because we love the sound of our own voices, which is partially true. But what you don’t realize is that deep down, under our many cups of coffee, messy buns and general bossiness, we love you.

 

Now, speaking from experience, I do my best to not get too attached because you aren’t mine to love. Not in the way one might expect, anyways. You are mine to teach and impart knowledge within.

I do my best to keep my distance and not love you like I would my own children because I have a job to do. And loving you would simply make that job too hard.

Especially when the time comes that you will be required to leave my classroom to take on the next phase of your very young lives. Where I will have to hope that I gave you enough skills and practice for the lessons they will teach you in kindergarten. Because from that point on, your journey will no longer be in my hands and I will only be able to watch from the sidelines as you grow and mature.

So I will say my farewells and watch you as the years go on. Excited about all the wonderful things you will discover and create in your lifetime, with a joyful tear in my eye.

 

But that is also why I, as a teacher, I am determined to make your time with me the most fun it can be. Yes, there will be hard days where neither of us has had enough sleep the night before and we’re cranky. But I can also promise there will be wonderful days with costume dance parties and glow sticks because those also bring me joy. There will also be chances to explore the world around us on walks to the park where we can collect things like pinecone, sticks and dandelions. And so much much more.

I’ll teach you how to regulate your emotions and advocate for yourself, request help when needed and accept it when you’ve forgotten to ask. Because my job is to help build you a foundation upon which you will continue to build for the rest of your life.

 

It could be argued that my job is more about teaching you how to hold a pencil or crayon and colour inside the lines. But I dare say I will also happily teach you how to colour outside of the lines. Because I believe there’s more to life than just following the rules and making the “right” choices. I believe in loving you through the tricky bits where we practice making mistakes and recognizing that it’s okay. Everyone makes mistakes, and it’s how you handle them afterwards that defines you.

Or maybe I should teach you how to talk in proper sentences and answer questions because that builds conversation skills. But instead I will teach you that your voice has power and that NO can be a complete sentence. I will teach you that self-advocacy is a beautiful thing and even more beautiful when others honour it.

 

So, although my love for you is unexpected and unconventional, I am prepared to be who you need me to be so that you can be who you want to be. Which can be kind of tricky when there are 20 of you and each of you needs me to be a different person for you that day. But that is not for you to worry about, because all I need is for you to know how loved you are.

No matter what happens within the four walls of my classroom, whether we fight or are the best of friends. Know that I will always love you, even after our time is done and you have moved on.

So if nothing else, when you leave my room I want the one lesson that sticks with you to be that You Are Loved.

 

 

Forever your very proud Preschool Teacher,

 

Mrs. Knibb - Brekke

teacherstudent
10

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    I loved this story. So many great teachers teach students more than their “required” curriculum and love their students.

  • "Now, speaking from experience, I do my best to not get too attached because you aren’t mine to love." I was laughing so much at red room and this line shut me up by hitting me hard across the face and kicking me in the gut! This is something I tell myself for all my friendships but still fail miserably 🥺🥺🥺 You know that I don't like kids. But if I were to be around them or work with them, I would definitely be the adult that I needed when I was young. I would also teach them all the things that you said you would. And help them advocate for themselves. I wish I had a teacher like you 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 I also liked that you said you'd help them colour outside the lines. I wish I had someone to do that for me. But I didn't. I feel this is a really important thing for kids to know. Because sometimes rules can be wrong! The "right" choices can be wrong! Can you believe that I'm actually freaking crying right now? I gotta get a grip! The world is a cruel place. People are stupid enough to bring children to suffer in this world. So thank you so much for wanting to help them learn to survive in this world. I seriously appreciate you so deeply! 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Aww, Donna you had to go and get me all mushy... Seriously though, who wouldn't want a letter like that? It's the perfect preparation for them to enter your class. Unique entry, Loved it!

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    This is fab. There are some teachers you just never, ever forget. For me, it's usually the ones who made me laugh but gave me a nudge (hefty kick) to make me better. This is a smashing entry.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    What a wonderful message to your future students and such an honest look at some of what the job demands, including that little bit of detachment, which I can say from experience, isn't easy. Love this story, H!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is a great entry. This right here "But I dare say I will also happily teach you how to colour outside of the lines. Because I believe there’s more to life than just following the rules and making the “right” choices." Also that "no is a complete sentence," are the best lessons to pass on. Wonderful words indeed. (Take a wee look at the first paragraph- last sentence.)

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    The best teachers do indeed love and cherish their students! I've had a lot of bad ones, but there were also some truly amazing ones scattered throughout as well :) And a few of them definitely remember me fondly, anti-social snark that I was lol. This was a beautiful tribute to your profession and a fantastic exploration of the kind of love that a teacher has to have for their students. <3 Hopefully all the kiddos of the world get to have a teacher like you for all of their school days.

  • Lightbringer 3 months ago

    Wow, this is really amazing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.