Earth logo

You Gotta Put Your Behind In Your Past

classic fashion to save the future

By The Creative Chimera Published 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Photo by me, hand-knit bandeau

My wish is not for the reinvigoration of one specific style. What I seek is a return to simpler times when clothing was made by an individual, rather than purchased from a fast-fashion site or big brand store. A time when each article of clothing was unique and made with love.

As a child, my grandmother made many of my clothes. She crafted spectacular one-of-a-kind Halloween costumes that could never be replaced by a $30 set from the department store. As a flower girl, I was adorned in beautiful white gowns for a multitude of weddings, including my own parents. I treasured the items she made, and safeguard some to this day in keepsake boxes.

My favourite flower girl dress from Grandma

My younger sister inherited the bulk of my collection. She had much less time with our grandmother and finds solace in connecting with her through these pieces of history. Though my grandmother has moved on from this world, I feel the warmth of her spirit each time I linger inside her now-abandoned sewing room. Handmade clothing is more than just an outfit, it’s an extension of yourself.

You don’t have to run out and buy a sewing machine if fashion design is not your cup of tea. There are thousands of individual artists making incredible and sustainable clothing lines. Supporting these artists keeps the community alive and prevents a need for “updating” your wardrobe with every changing fad. Fast fashion brands are designed to be excessively consumed and thrown away after a short time. The clothing they offer is not made to last, it is made to fall apart so you will come rushing back for the next big trend. Fill your closet instead with unique and sustainably crafted clothing that you can continue to love for years! Curating a closet that brings you joy, instead of chasing the latest trends, will open up a wider world of possibilities to express your individual style.

I took a year off from purchasing any new clothing and started the ambitious project of making my own. Knitting was the obvious starting point for me. I had recently picked up the hobby as a quarantine project and couldn’t wait to give my new skills a real test. Working with yarn also offers a bonus that I found very appealing on my recently laid-off budget. If you get to the end and hate it, just unravel and try again! No more buyer's remorse!

I wanted to create something unique so I chose to freehand it rather than following a design. Looking over my previous projects, mostly scarves and kitchen items, I had my first fashion epiphany. Mashing together a scarf and cloth pattern I formed the image of a shirt in my mind and set to work. A few days later I had my first completed creation!

Image by me, human also me 😋

It was a big step up from my previous projects and I was thrilled with the results! After working mostly in squares and rectangles it was amazing to slip into an item that not only fit me perfectly but represented the growth of my creative journey. I couldn’t wait to try it again and soon had a drawer full of unique designs. With proper care, these versatile items will be with me for years. Now when someone says “wow, I love your shirt”, I get to say “thank you, I made it myself!” It gives me a personal boost of confidence in both my appearance and creative prowess!

Image by me, human also me 😋

Knitting and sewing may seem daunting if you have no experience, but I assure you anyone can pick them up with a little nudge from our hero, YouTube. The internet is jam-packed with groups and clubs offering great information and a support system for newbies as well. Reach out if you're struggling and, somewhere, a hand will reach back!

Top 10 bonuses of self-made clothing 🧶

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

1) Get the perfect fit

One size never fits all. We each have a unique perspective on what a “good fit” means. Items made specifically for you will be tailored to your taste and feel just right.

2) Learn a new life skill

Schools have begun to cut sewing and home economics from the curriculum so it is up to us to seek out and share the knowledge. Basic sewing skills are incredibly useful!

3) Feel proud of your wardrobe

Showing off the amazing outfit you handcrafted is ten times more satisfying than compliments on a $50 T-shirt chosen for label status.

4) Select eco-friendly materials

As the sole creator of your item, you have complete control over the sourcing of sustainable materials.

5) Start a business

Selling the items you make isn’t the only way to earn money. You can sell patterns, design and market your own fabric, make your own yarn, or even teach classes when you master your trade!

6) Skip the holiday crowds

Give your loved ones a gift from the heart instead of the mall.

7) Make your own style.

You can go for a high fashion look or cozy loungewear. There are no wrong answers in self-expression!

8) Busy your hands

If you're trying to break a habit such as nail-biting, smoking, or excessive scrolling online, a new hobby is super helpful! Keep your hands and mind busy on a creative task. Get lost in the project. Before you know it, that bad habit will be replaced by a healthy appetite for creation.

9) It’s therapeutic

Clear your mind and bask in self-care as you hone your skills. Enjoy a relaxing cup of coffee as you craft and select a soothing playlist or your favourite show. If you prefer to work in silence this is a great time to schedule your quiet time for the day. Embrace feelings of joy as you create and your item will evoke that joy each time you slip it on. Creating will give you a great serotonin boost and seeing that finished product will always be a unique thrill!

10) It’s fun!

Let yourself get lost in the joy of artistic expression.

BONUS! No more Twin Troubles

Never get caught at a party in the same outfit as someone ever again!

By Chan on Unsplash

Thank you for reading!

Check out my vocal article with knitting tips and hacks for beginners HERE.

If you loved anything you saw today you can contact me about pattern advice or check out the selection in my Etsy shop below!

Sustainability
4

About the Creator

The Creative Chimera

Welcome! I’m an Artist, Twitch streamer, & eclectic writer. I do fiction and non fiction so check out my profile to see more of my topics! I joined vocal to spread some knowledge, share some of my works & find awesome writers to experience!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.