Earth logo

Toucan You Can

See a toucan

By TammyReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

You too can see a toucan! But you have to be in the right place at the right time or see them here through my lens. I did it by catching a flight to the lush jungles of Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, and then took up residence in 2014. I remember the first time I visited Costa Rica; I fell in love with the lush landscape and the exotic wildlife it had to offer.

Where I stayed was perfectly positioned and surrounded by jungle. Every day I would go out on the balcony overlooking the massive landscape of the tropical forest, with Costa Rican coffee in one hand and eyes ready the see what I could find for the day. Monkeys and sloths became part of my daily life, and they were like my wildlife pets that I didn't have to care for. So many monkeys every day, but only two sloths lived in the trees behind me; then came a baby each year was added to the family. I would see the baby sloth for only a few months then they were set to go on their own. Seeing toucans, on the other hand, was a chance of a lifetime, and I could not believe they came to see me.

White Face Monkey

Sloth Family

The first thought that I had (after the excitement of seeing a toucan) took me back to my childhood, all the way back to Sam the Toucan from the Foot Loops cereal. The whole commercial played out in my head in a matter of seconds. Then I ran to look for the camera, and to my surprise, they did not wait for me. Now that I knew there were toucans in the area, I thought to myself, “I need to keep an eye out for them.” Because they came few and far between, sometimes I could capture one, and other times I would scramble around looking for my memory capture, whatcha ma call it, yes you know that thing-my camera. Once I was able to keep a camera near, the new challenge became focusing the camera. But the important part was that I captured the moments “some good” and “some bad.” Here are some of my first shots.

Through trial and error, I started to learn their patterns (the time of year, time of day, and where they lay); all became part of what allowed me to capture multiple moments during the three years I stayed in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. There are over 30 species of toucans; a total of six live in Costa Rica and three along the pacific coast near me. During my time there, I was able to capture two breeds.

The Chestnut-Mandible is sometimes called yellow-throated toucan and is the largest of all toucans in Costa Rica and seconded largest in the world after the Toco Toucan.

The Fiery-billed Aracari looks a bit scarier and less seen.

Just as colorful as the cereal, but who knew they had blue feet. Wow, those beaks are big, and I wanted to hear what they had to say. Although their beaks look like they can tear things apart, they are hollow and fragile. Time after time, I tried to capture the sounds; how lucky was I when I did. Then I was able to catch two together. I started seeing the Chestnut-Mandible more often sitting in the tree right outside of the large floor-to-ceiling window, and then came one of each.

Toucan bird with your black, yellow, red, and green

What a big bird that brings a delicate energy

Colorful beak with blue feet, you are not Sam

You are a real Toucan so please sing for me!

TammyRenee

Nature
1

About the Creator

TammyRenee

As I start my next journey, words are what I have to share,

life experiences, life lessons, and emotional connections from different perspectives.

instagram.com/tammyreneetransformation/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.