Earth logo

Thoughts About The Seasons — Fall Is Here

Inspired by 100 and under fall competition

By Gabriella KorosiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Thoughts About The Seasons — Fall Is Here
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I can hear the raindrops. It is subtle and comforting. I close my eyes and just focus on the raindrop-by-drop as they are coming down. I open my front door and stand there for a moment. I feel the cool October morning breeze on my skin. I put my hand out and, I can feel the raindrops on my fingers. It is cold but not too cold. I noticed my fuchsia baskets have some ripened berries. I pick some berries to eat. That’s my morning treat.

I like the rain. Don’t get me wrong I don’t like to stand outside in the rain for a long period especially when it’s coming down hard. I enjoy a gentle rain in the morning that waters the trees and flowers that we have around the property. Rain is comforting after a summer that’s been very dry.

Of course, if you have too much rain that can also be a problem. Houses slide down the hill. We had a few of those happening in our town before. That is very unsettling.

I am hoping that our rain, for now, will stay gentle. I do love it when it rains at night, and you wake up in the morning open the door, and smell the fresh air. There’s just something about rain that is cleansing. It takes the dust away and changes the smell in the air. Rain brings a comforting cycle of nature right in front of us.

If I close my eyes, I can still hear the raindrops outside. I can imagine standing outside in front of my car getting ready to go to work and no matter how quickly I try to get into the car to drive to work I always get a few raindrops on my hands and my face.

I think about my garden. Some of the plants are still enjoying the fall weather. The roses are doing wonderful. The bushes and evergreens are ready and excited to get nourishment from the rain. Many of my plants enjoy the cool weather. My tomatoes are not so much. There has been a lot of wind coming with the fall weather and the tomatoes have fallen over multiple times. They start to rip too fast because there’s just too much water. I keep trying to save them. It’s not working. I know in a few days I’m just going to need to pick them green and bring them inside to ripen in the house. Parsley and carrots are still doing well. The same for potatoes. The herbs also producing still, including my dill, oregano, and mint. I keep picking them as much as I can and dry them for both the seeds and the leaves to use them as tea or in different foods that we make.

This year at our work for Halloween we have a theme that is Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory. I have been trying to figure out who I should be. Normally, I don’t dress up for Halloween, not since the kids have been out of the house. This year there’s just something different. Maybe because of the pandemic. People are just looking for a little bit of higher spirits. I decided I will be blue. I will be the blue girl that ate the blueberry gum in the movie and turned blue. In the spirit of that, I will attempt to color my face my hair blue also my nails and dress in a blue outfit.

That is the excitement when it comes to fall that I’m looking forward to today. Thank you for this prompt Carrie. A. Kelly to write about the fall season.

Thank you for reading. Happy Halloween to Everyone.

Gabriella

Dancing elephants Press 2021. All rights reserved.

short story
1

About the Creator

Gabriella Korosi

I am a writer, public health professional, a nurse. Creator of connections, spreading positivity. Interests: health/spirituality/positivity/joy/caring/public health/nursing. My goal is to create positive change.https://gabriellakorosi.org

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.