Earth logo

They Lurk Beneath!

Whatever you do don't turn your back to the water!

By Joanna BlazePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Out in the swamp lands of Louisiana there is so much hidden beauty that is just waiting to be discovered. Whether it’s the breathtaking giant magnolias that stretch far throughout the land to the sandy barrier islands or the dense eerie bayou you will always find something new that is just waiting to be discovered. It is truly an incredible place that you just have to see to believe. Everyday there is always something different to do and each day is a new adventure that makes this place is a true outdoorsman’s paradise. For me I found the beauty in the bayou through the dense cypress trees in the murky waters lies one of earths fiercest creatures…alligators. These creatures may be deadly with their sharp teeth and claws but after observing these animals from a distance they are truly an incredible animal that is misunderstood that needs to be respected. I was able to capture the definition and beauty of these animals that are almost prehistoric through my camera lens as I drove deep into the swamp to find these creatures.

I went to Louisiana for my first solo adventure almost a month ago, and I truly wanted a taste of the deep southlands of America. I have always been a true outdoor enthusiast and I was really excited when I planned this trip because I love the beauty I see in nature that feels surreal. Whenever I had a really rough day, I would always go out on hikes through the woods to clear my head from the frustrations of life and nature truly became my safe haven. Throughout the week I visited a lot of new places I’ve never been from plantations and national parks and on this day I really wanted to get out on the water and get a real feel of swamp lands. I was driving through two of Louisiana’s largest lakes on Interstate 55 and stumbled across the Cajun Pride Swamp Tours in the Wildlife refuge of St. John the Baptist Parish. I had a rough time looking for a boat to get out on the water and I thought might as well just do one of the swamp tours if I want to get out and explore the bayous and at least observe these creatures from a safe distance.

Once I was out on the water, we were all told to never feed alligators and there is a very good reason for that. Shortly after leaving shore, I already saw at least ten alligators not even within minute and then that’s when I saw the reason why to never feed a gator. On the tour they also do alligator feedings with chicken and marshmallows, and this was the reason why it is dangerous to feed them because it attracts them. Its just like the same principle if you have a farm, or you work at a zoo or a wildlife sanctuary, animals are attracted to humans if they know that they can depend on them as a source for food. This could be one of the many reasons why alligators are beginning to get a little too close to humans. If anything during the daytime they prefer to relax on the shores and soak up the sunlight but at night that’s when they become more alive. They are somewhat nocturnal animals and they hunt at night when their prey is most vulnerable, and they lurk just below surface waiting to strike.

The alligators were truly the highlight of the whole trip because you can’t just go to Louisiana without at least seeing one. I even had the opportunity to hold a baby alligator and before I even held it I saw how other people were reacting to it while holding it. People were freaking out and they were showing fear and I remembered that animals pick up on humans’ emotions. As soon as I held the baby alligator it had calmed down, I was shocked and amazed at this. I was excited to hold it but the fact that it was like a little puppy with me I felt that bond and connection with them.

This photograph is just one of many I took while on the river, but I chose this one because it really captured the true fierceness of an alligator. This was the one shot that I wanted to capture the most, a gator lurking in the water as if its ready to sneak up on its prey. It even captures the roughness of a gators hard scales while submerged in the water. When I looked into the gators eyes even through my camera lens I could see the beauty within it and they truly are unique animals that deserve a better reputation. When I took this picture, I had it set on outdoor mode and after looking at the photograph some more I felt there was no editing that needed to be done. Whenever I take a photograph, I always think about the timing before I even push the button to capture the moment, because its always about the perfect timing. When there is perfect timing there doesn’t need to be editing done to a picture and the quality with very minimal editing can take you right to that moment when the image is captured. I want the people that look at my photographs to almost feel like they are right there with me. After observing these gators I now have a whole new respect for them and hopefully others can understand that there’s more to them that lurks just beneath surface.

This trip was very special to me because I not only came to Louisiana for the nature, but I also went and did it for myself. I wanted to show the people around me that there is so much more to life than just being stuck in the same place. I also went looking for a place that I could call home someday and being there I felt I belonged. The Cajuns of Louisiana have so much pride and heart in their lifestyle, and you could just feel it all around you. To travel is to live and you just have to get out and explore it and see it for yourself. With a camera by your side, you can capture some of the once in a lifetime moments that are worth sharing with the rest of the world.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Joanna Blaze

I love writing just about everything but some of my personal favorites are romance, criminal, horror, and fantasy. I'm also an avid traveler I love traveling solo because I have a lot more fun adventures and the experience is more exciting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.