Earth logo

The Pros And Cons Of Living Off The Grid

Trading With My Neighbors

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
Like
Green Beans Anyone? (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

When I was younger, I always dreamed of living off the grid, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the pollution, the noise, and the stress. I wanted to be closer to nature, to live simply and sustainably, and to be independent from the unreliable and expensive electricity grid. That's why I decided to move (a portion of every year) to a remote jungle area in Cambodia, where I built my own off the grid home, installed solar panels, dug a well, planted numerous vegetable gardens and bought a small handful of farm animals.

It was not easy at first. I had to learn how to survive in the wilderness, how to deal with the heat, the rain, the insects, and the wildlife. I had to adapt to a different culture and language, and to make friends with the local Bunong tribal people who lived nearby. I had to face loneliness, boredom, and isolation. But I also experienced many joys and benefits. I enjoyed the beauty and tranquility of nature, the fresh air and water, the organic food, and the freedom and simplicity of life. I felt more connected to myself, to others, and to the environment. I learned new skills and gained new perspectives.

One of the most important aspects of living off the grid is trading with my neighbors. Since I don't have access to markets or shops, I rely on exchanging goods and services with the people around me. For example, I trade some of my vegetables and eggs for fruits, local bush meat (wild caught-not farm fed), and other necessities. I even trade some of my solar power on occasion (albeit small amounts) that can be used for charging phones or internet access for things like fruit or vegetable trees that I can grow on my family's land. I have also traded some of Sophorn's (my wife) and my labor for tools or materials. Trading helps me meet my basic needs, diversify my resources, and build relationships with my community without having the need to go to town and spend extra unnecessary money.

However, trading also has its drawbacks and challenges. Sometimes, I feel like I get the raw end of the stick. For instance, some people try to take advantage of me or cheat me by offering low-quality or overpriced items. Some people don't honor their agreements or don't pay their debts. Some people don't respect my property or privacy, such as stealing over 200 feet of fencing and calling it an accident, which required, by the way, pulling it out of concrete and removing staples before they could remove it. Who is on the hook for that? My wife and I are responsible, as she is married to the only foreigner in the area. Sometimes, I have conflicts or misunderstandings with my neighbors over different values or expectations. Sometimes, I have to compromise or sacrifice something that I want or need for something that they want or need.

But such is life. Living off the grid is not perfect or easy. It has its pros and cons, its joys and sorrows, its rewards and risks. It is not for everyone, but it is for me. I love living off the grid and trading with my neighbors because it makes me feel alive, authentic, and fulfilled.

Some of the pros and cons of living off the grid and trading with my neighbors can be seen below. I hope that by sharing my experience, I can inspire you to consider living off the grid yourself or at least appreciate its benefits and challenges. And, do not let yourself get bogged down by the negatives, just put a smile on your face and move on.

Pros of living off the grid:

* You save money on electricity bills, taxes, fees, and other expenses that come with living on the grid.

* You reduce your environmental impact by using renewable energy sources, conserving water and resources, recycling waste, and growing your own food.

* You improve your health by eating fresh and organic food, drinking clean water, breathing fresh air, getting more exercise, and reducing stress.

* You enhance your skills by learning how to build, repair, maintain, grow, harvest, preserve, cook, and trade.

* You enrich your knowledge by learning about different plants, animals, cultures, languages, customs, and histories.

* You expand your network by meeting new people who share your values or interests or who can help you in times of need.

* You increase your happiness by living according to your principles, passions, and preferences.

Cons of living off the grid:

* You face difficulties in accessing basic services such as health care, education, communication, transportation, and entertainment.

* You encounter dangers such as natural disasters, wild animals, diseases, injuries, and crime.

* You endure hardships such as extreme weather, lack of comfort, isolation, and boredom.

* You deal with uncertainties such as crop failures and equipment breakdowns that take an excessive amount of time to repair because of your physical location.

* You cope with conflicts such as disagreements, misunderstandings, resentments, and rivalries without the rule of law and sometimes common sense.

* You make sacrifices such as giving up convenience, luxury, variety, and security.

Pros of trading with neighbors:

* You meet your basic needs by exchanging what you have for what you need.

* You diversify your resources by acquiring different types of goods and services.

* You build relationships by establishing trust, cooperation, friendship, and loyalty.

* You learn from others by gaining new insights, ideas, tips and feedback.

* You support others by offering help, advice, encouragement, and gratitude.

* You enjoy yourself by having fun, sharing stories, celebrating events, and creating memories.

Cons of trading with neighbors:

* You get cheated by people who offer low-quality or overpriced items.

* You get indebted by people who don't honor their agreements or don't pay their debts.

* You get invaded by people who don't respect your property or privacy.

* You get conflicted by people who have different values or expectations.

* You get compromised by people who want or need something that you want or need.

* You get disappointed by people who let you down or hurt you.

Overall, the positives do outweigh the negatives and when the cons start adding up, all I can do is smile and laugh it off (with a bit of frustration). Living off the grid and trading with my neighbors has been a gratifying, but challenging experience for me. Let's face it, I have learned a lot, grown a lot, and enjoyed a lot. I have also faced a lot, endured a lot, and suffered a lot. But I don't regret my decision. I think living off the grid and trading with my neighbors has made me a better person and a happier person. I hope you can envision the pros and cons of living off the grid and trading with your neighbors and decide for yourself if it is something that you want to try or not.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Freddie's Lost Treasures (Author)9 months ago

    Thank you Savannah. I try to put my experiences to paper so people can read about them and enjoy genuine pictures and real-life experiences that translate into stories. I have many more. Your patronage is much appreciated! You may be intrigued by the following: https://vocal.media/motivation/living-life-in-the-jungle-off-grid This is where it all started on Vocal...check it out. Thanks again.

  • Savannah Taylor9 months ago

    THIS!!! OMG...I have been thinking about this topic for WEEKS, and here you have done an EXCELLENT job. I think this is the best thing I have read online in a long, long time. You really spelled it all out. Man! Everybody- - even people who don't live off the grid - - should read this. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.