Earth logo

The Mosquitos In Northern Minnesota This Year Are Atrocious or Horrendous If You Prefer!

Have you tried bug zappers? Bug zappers are the very best for mosquitos!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
The Mosquitos In Northern Minnesota This Year Are Atrocious or Horrendous If You Prefer!
Photo by Erik Karits on Unsplash

Nothing works 100% on mosquitos. I found a bug zapper that we tried when camping. I found it shopping on Publishers Clearing House (PCH). I bought more than a few worthless products there and I thought that would be one of the worthless ones. This one, the hubby said, “Order another if you can!”

This is a man that discourages purchasing anything from PCH! We have two bug zappers and are considering more!

The mosquitos this year are bad up in northern Minnesota. I really would call them horrendous or atrocious. That may be a bit of an exaggeration but just a bit! I have a hat with a net and I still do not want to be outside as the buzzing gets to be too much, even without the biting.

I planted only marigolds as they discourage mosquitos. And they are hardy. I was in and out several times and planted as quickly as possible! I planted in the hot sun as the mosquitos are less during the full sun.

And then there are wood ticks. Our seven and eight-year-old grandchildren that live closer to us, stayed with grandpa when I was training out of town. When I got home they told me about how many ticks they had camping and being outside.

Wood ticks are not bad this year as some years it feels like they are more like mosquitos this year. Just standing outside they can cover you. Too many to count. Just get them off you. The granddaughter has counted and remembers just how many Grandpa, her brother, and she have had.

They ride 4-wheelers with grandpa and have their bikes here. Grandpa also has a go-cart. Fun Grandpa. Then the grandson was especially pleased that they got to shoot bb guns yesterday too. Grandpa has everything, including a shooting range.

The first thing I did when I got home was use the Eco to call their mom, so they could see mom, and she could see them. Their mom called me when she couldn’t get ahold of hubby. She was worried as she hadn’t heard from them. I hadn’t either but I knew they were camping and the reception isn’t great away from the house.

And they can’t hear the phone on the 4-wheelers I reminded her.

I was tired from training and being away from home. When they were going on a deer run I passed even though the grandson told me which 4-wheeler I could ride. I thought, hmmm, he is in charge of the 4-wheelers now. He made sure to tell me as I was getting out of the car that Grandpa lets him ride the 320 by himself now.

And in 3 years he can ride a bigger one.

I talked with Grandpa as the grandson is 8 and in 3 years he will be 11. That is the usual time he teaches the grands to ride by themself. I think he may have a favorite, even though he says he never favors one over another. He has gone into how this one has a dirt bike, already knows how to shift, etc.

Oh, and he has been riding machines for years now.

The granddaughter was very itchy from all the mosquito bites and when I pulled an Off stick for itch and rash, out of my purse she was pleased when it was working. She used it again just before bed. She changed her mind about it working the next day, however, the scratching had stopped.

The big cities have mosquitos too but nothing like what we get up north.

Is there such a thing as overkill on bug zappers? I am thinking having bug zappers at the camper is really where we need them but twice a summer we get an outbreak in the house. We are not sure where they come from but it is from somewhere.

Bug zappers would come in handy in the house too! Time to order a few more!

****

First published in Mercury Press on Medium

Nature
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.