Earth logo

The Golden Locket

The golden locket is mostly about lose and the end of the world.

By Sherri ArthurPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5

It was a normal typical day, just like any other day. So I originally thought to myself; basically by the time I got moving around. The feelings would come rushing in so fast that I wouldn’t have time to distract myself from them. That dreaded feeling of doom would linger over me like there is no tomorrow as I got ready for work one last time. Thinking about the red dragon in flames falling from the sky destroying parts of China and in golfing parts of America in its wake. That nightmare of a dream, the last time I warned everyone and nothing happened I still get spray painted loser in big red letters painted on my door. So I’m going to keep quiet and not say anything because nobody will believe me anyway, no matter what I do it's always the same.

I have told people to be careful, like my mother I miss her so much. I stare at the gift she left me for my birthday and never opened it. I still cry about it till this day. Which is the anniversary of her death. I put the small box that was laying on the floor back up on the counter and was remembering the day just like it was yesterday.

“Happy Birthday my little princess” Mom always called me and I would have to tell her to stop. I'm 18 years old and I am not a little girl any more. She just stared at me and said “you will always be my little girl” She handed me a small box that was wrapped in blue colors with a bow. It used to annoy me when she would call me her little princess. I would get so mad when she called me her princess. How I wish I could go back in time to tell her I loved her so much and hug her but I stormed to my room like a little girl.

She left for work and that was the last time I saw her. The police came and pounded on the door and told me “your mothers been in a car accident, she's in the hospital, I'll take you there.” So I went with the police officer. I had a knot in my throat as we were making our way up to Metro hospital...but I just couldn’t shake the feeling I have about my mom. We finally made it.

Officer Fred Morgan walked in with me and the Doctor came in. He had blood all over him, like he battled with a ferocious beast. The look on his eyes told me everything before he could speak. I hated these memories as I looked at the small box that I still hadn't opened since she died. My phone rang the boss Mr. Copperfield said “there is no work today and put on the news.” So I did and my dream was coming true. The reporter was talking about an asteroid heading straight for use. “Breaking news, seek shelter immediately” then the emergency broadcast came on. Saying the same thing over and over again. I went and grabbed my mothers gift and opened it and as I did I started to cry. Then with my puffy red eyes I saw the most beautiful heart shaped rose golden locket. I laughed because when I opened the locket, me and mothers picture was in it. It was also engraved with her favorite saying “look to the stars.” All of a sudden I was laughing and crying at the same time holding the locket close to my heart.

I knew that I’ll be seeing my mother soon...but is this really the end of everything? Are we going to be moving forward? The world is in utter chaos with no government. When the asteroid entered the atmosphere it broke into two pieces. In which it destroyed Korea and caused a massive tsunami. That has destroyed all the East Coast of the United States. That wasn’t the least of their worries; the other part of the asteroid was heading for Yellowstone National Park where the super volcano is. Earthquakes everywhere city’s all over looked like a war zone. People were looting and taking everything, winter came early because the clouds of dust from all the volcanoes blocked out the sun for years, and I held this precious gift in my hands the sky went dark and fire engulfed the land.

Climate
5

About the Creator

Sherri Arthur

Hi my name is Sherri Arthur

I love writing and I have in intellectual disability

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.