Earth logo

The End's Beginning

Tye Dye For?

By Amy KovacsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

The sky banners a beautiful color scheme stretching across the tye dye sky. This is now called home?

We walked for weeks before we found refuge in this weathered pole barn. Back home there wasn't much left unrumaged through so we were forced to flee and find clean air here. I took several deep breaths, clenched my mother's heart shaped locket between my finger tips, and lead my friends loudly and proudly with "always moving forward"!

I once laughed when I was told that at the end of the world, I would be needed. I was supposedly going to be the morale that helps everyone want to rebuild, I guess. I never thought that it would ring any actual truth.

Around this barn shows farming for our relief. The people I have sunconsciously acquired along the long road of life are all here working with me. Each person inadvertently picked due to their different unique qualities. These people shall show promise?

How could an explosion that happened thousands of miles away devastate us in such a way! No warnings alarms sounded, broadcasts, or even a hint as we lived our normal daily lives? I miss coffee and pills as I sit tired in the loft all night with swollen feet from following our homemade trail of tears.

Regret stands no ground here so we made agreements not to speak of the negatives. Unfortunately, we face new dark challenges. The deer are different and no longer safe to eat. Everything seems out for blood lately.

I always have first watch and tonight I have set traps along the parcel. If we wish to fish fresh water we have to widen our perimeter. I was told that the definition of survival means learning how to fight back. In my case that meant fighting against the grinning wolves that pose a poisonous threat to our harvest.

Live bait is best when it comes to luring. Here we trapped cats to cry for us as they don't fancy being in these woven wicker cages. One by one the wolves crept in the shadows and took their chances on these gift wrapped platters posted. Posted is worded best seeing as one by one the wolves fell in our dugout covered trenches landing on sharpened staffs placed strategically.

My mother would be proud? It's been two February's passed since that flu season.

I carry her locket along with her memory, strength, and determination. Summer days pass us by like petals. Leaves become brittle. We prepare ourselves for winter's new challenges.

Fighting , foraging, and planting seeds for the future. We can resurrect what was once lost? The wild people we have encounted sit soulless in the trees waiting and all government official have been sentenced to quarantine. We are on our own?

I know that I don't speak much of my people but I lead them with confidence. Everyone here is adventurous and I am privileged to have met such talented individuals.

One of my acquires is what one would consider to be a hybrid. His father's blood is rumored to have a strange genitic mutation passed down through generations. Although his scent scares off wild dogs he also gives off a frequency of a fearful ping.

I fell in love with him the moment I saw bats swarm him. Maybe he's a sight for sore ears?. "What an interesting creature" I thought!

l found myself exhausted and inertia had set in. Since things have settled down, it is time to procreate?

Approaching him to tell him my feelings, I stood tongue tied as he smiled at me with those endearing eyes. I told him that his traps were protective and if he will it, he may sit with me on first watch this evening.

He met me later in the rafters, we talked for hours, and I was just about worthless to protect even myself furthermore. We became intertwined and my attention was barrowed until the sun peaked.

Luckily his crafts had held and all was well, safe in his securities. Trusting him, together we worked hard all winter learning to sterilize water, constructing fences, and with time came better defense! Also, predators came as less worry.

My mother always used to say "Ohio is one of the safest place to be". I'm assuming her to be dead right!! I hear "There's always something that can be done" echoing from me while helping others to problem solve.

Like with any story there has to be a end following its beginning, right? This end in particular was set to start our world's new beginnings. With all of life's stresses before, would him and I have had time to sit together in such a way?

You hear yourself better when you sit in silence. No loud mufflers, police sirens, radios blaring, drive thru speakers, and people cursing you when you daze out at stoplights.

There are many things my mother liked to say to me and now I finally get to sit down and reflect on them.

"He wants to take care of you, let him", "If you don't know what to do, don't do anything at all", And "always stay fifty baby bunnies away from the car in front of you".

They say thay home is where the heart is… mine hangs with great purpose around my neck!

The End's Beginning!!!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Amy Kovacs

Start writing....and then finish

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.