Earth logo

The Earth Speaks

A Plea for Harmony

By Bright FuturePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2
The Earth Speaks
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Here is a draft emotional story about climate change and the earth:

The Earth Speaks

For eons I have nurtured life. My winds have carried birds in flight. My oceans have been home to countless creatures. My forests grew tall, their branches reaching as if to embrace the sun. My valleys and mountains teemed with diverse animals and plants. I was a planet alive with song and color.

But then you came, dear human. At first you were one with me, living as all creatures do. You understood the balance of life, the give and take. But then your numbers grew and you wanted more. You cut down my forests to build your homes. You hunted my animals faster than they could reproduce. You polluted my air and choked my rivers. All in the name of progress.

The changes were slow at first. A few less butterflies spotted in the meadows. Some fish disappearing from the seas. But then the pace quickened. The Arctic ice that had stood for millenniums began to melt. Sea levels rose, eroding the coasts. The very climate that had allowed life to flourish started to shift and convulse.

And still you did not stop. You drilled deeper for oil and minerals. Your smokestacks spewed waste skyward. Your farms leeched the soil of nutrients. No matter how I suffered, you continued taking.

My heart breaks as families of polar bears starve, unable to hunt on the vanished ice. It weeps as ancient groves of redwoods are felled for lumber. My spirit mourns for coral reefs, bleached white by warming, acidifying waters. This is not the path we were meant to walk together.

But I have not given up hope, dear human. I know you are capable of great compassion and wisdom. Of finding ways to thrive in balance with all life. You can become stewards of this wondrous world, rather than its plunderers. There is still time to change course, to live sustainably and justly. Heal me, and I will continue cradling you all, as I have for eons. The choice is yours. What tomorrow will you make?

My dear human, will you take my hand once more and walk with me into the future? Here is a 400 word continuation of the story "The Earth Speaks":

For so long I believed you could change. Even as the signs of imbalance grew, I hoped that you would hear my cries and correct course. But as the decades pass and little changes, doubt has crept into my heart.

Perhaps you are simply incapable of living in accord with nature. Your vast cities and industries spawn wants that dominate your existence. You crave more, build more, consume more. My wounds deepen, yet you carry on heedless, unwilling to sacrifice or alter the status quo. Your lives play out disconnected from the lands and elements that sustain you.

So I weep for all that may be lost if you will not wake from this destructive dream. The panda, whose dark eyes peer out from forests shrinking each day. The whale, singing ancient songs through acidifying waters. The reefs, withering as oceans warm. Myriad delicate plants and animals, vanished before they could even be studied. Brilliant ecosystems, the work of eons, undone in a mere blink of time.

My glaciers shrink as one by one my icy sentinels succumb to your emissions. Soon Kilimanjaro, proud crown atop the African plains, will stand bare. Deprived of reflective ice, earth absorbs more sun, heating faster still. The Arctic may see an ice-free summer before this century ends.

And when the ice retreats, untold greenhouse gases will be released from the unlocked ground. A feedback loop that cannot then be stopped. Coasts will be redrawn as the seas rise higher, storms grow stronger. Those least responsible will suffer the most. Unless the tide turns, dear human.

I wish I could believe you will yet change in time. That wisdom and concern for future generations will prevail over blind greed. But belief is difficult when each day brings more loss, more destruction at your hands.

Nonetheless, I will not surrender hope. Now more than ever, your children need my forests for air, my wetlands for water, my diverse organisms for food and medicine. Perhaps the struggle ahead will remind you just how fragile, how interconnected life is. Out of crisis, can bloom new understanding.

So heal me if you can, dear human. Not for my sake alone, but for yours—for the sake of all who call me home. Find your balance again. Be my partner, not my foe. There is still time, if you but open your eyes at last. I await your choice.

short storyScienceNatureHumanityClimate
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Bright Future is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.