Earth logo

The Cows came home.

Curious...

By Ellie HouckPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Mooonday

As I left work, I decided it was a good idea to wind down by taking a good long walk. Stressed as usual, walking seems to always be my destressing, go to move. As I walked down the sidewalk I looked up into the sky which was quite peaceful and quite pretty. As I walked I was thinking about my life, my future, what was my next step in life, the things we tend to typically worry about. There’s a peace I always have that seems to let me know everything is going to be alright.

I’ve walked many of my different dogs I’ve had on this trail, they always enjoy it. I enjoy the bonding experience and the peacefulness of it all. I like this trail a lot because it has so much beautiful scenery and it is peaceful. I often feel clear headed once I have walked this particular trail.

As I kept walking, I passed a ball field to my right. I had taken the special needs guy I work with to a few times for his ball practice. Good times, good memories. The breeze was nice, content. As I continued to walk I passed a large field full of trees and brush, I always think I hope a bear isn’t hiding somewhere in there... so I walk a little bit faster. I hear some rustling in the brush and walk even faster!

As I’m getting closer to the end of the trail, I look to my left and there in a large field is a bunch of baby cows. I keep walking as each one stops to look at me like what are you and why are you here. Very cute, very curious, very hungry as they graze and eat. Their mommas stay close by watching me as well because that’s what mamas do.

As I keep walking I notice the little black calf starts to follow me. I walk to the end of the trail and turn around to come back I notice the little guy turns around and follows me. His mother is not amused, but I am! As I walk he keeps up watching me just to see what I’m going to do. I laugh because his curiosity made my day that day. Cute little guy.

Part of me watching him, wanted to cross the street and pet him. Part of me didn’t want to get run over or deal with his mother. The sky kept opening up through the clouds to show the beautiful sun and to peep down on the cows that day.

They seem to have their own routine, taking turns walking through the field, grazing, then slowly moving around to graze somewhere else. The calves would occasionally go find their mothers as if to say hello and then move on to grazing the grass again. Watching the cows made me realize how fast we move in the world today, and how much we need to just slow down, appreciate the scenery around us and enjoy our days as we keep moving forward in this journey called life.

That was a good day, a relaxing day. A day that reminds me we’re not alone on this planet and the simple curiosity of a little calf could make my day and bring me so much joy. I don’t see that little guy when I walk by anymore, he’s moved on but that particular day he definitely made my day and had to capture of picture of his curious little self... Nature is a beautiful thing, so innocent, so curious, beautiful beautiful thing.

Nature

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EHWritten by Ellie Houck

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.