Earth logo

Strokes Of The Ocean

Shark Snack

By Misha AlslebenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Painting near the shore had become a routine since moving to Maine. Though my spots were normally spur of the moment the hill I was perched upon today was treacherous but the view it offered was magical.

Overlooking the bay and town allowed one to take in the beauty surrounding us.

Surreal and calming. Beautiful yet chaotic.

My hands moved as I painted thick strokes of the sky in front of me onto the canvas. I paused seeing something move in the waters below. Caught off balance by a sudden gust of strong wind I struggled to regain my footing.

My heart hammered in my chest, probably best to finish up and head home I thought to myself. My red hair whipped in the wind as I finished my painting.

The beautiful sunset that I had seen nearly every night since moving here, the waves fiercely crashing on the rocks near the lighthouse, the docks with the nearby town, birds flying, and a seal lounging nearby. Even the ship on the horizon leaving the harbor hours earlier made it into the work of art. I had of course added a few things, like the dolphins jumping from the water in the distance.

I took a deep breath admiring the work and view one last time appreciating my time here as I began to pack up. Looking out into the distance I wondered why no one had considered building steps up to this spot as it would be beautiful for picnics or weddings then quickly realized it was likely out of respect to the land, as so many places are slowly becoming polluted with human garbage ruining the surrounding ecosystems I so loved to paint and spend time in.

Walking down the hill was steeper than the walk-up. I gathered my thoughts, placing my feet methodically only to lose balance sending my easel flying to the left as I tumbled to the right.

While rolling down the steep mountain hill I made out blurs of rocks, paint bottles falling near me, and trees I was just barely dodging, I felt it before I saw it.

The absence of the ground beneath me, the rocks no longer assaulting my body, as I tumbled with little hope of stopping, The smell of fresh air and dirt-filled my nose before it was met with the smell of the salty water below me.

I was falling, freely, nothing below me except rocks and water. My eyes watered as I braced, dreading the impact I was about to face, only to be surprised by bubbles surrounding me as a dark figure swam above me. Soon I was gasping for air as my wet tangled hair covered my face and my eyes burned,

I made out a tail, a dolphin maybe, choking, water exited my mouth as I winced in pain from the tumbling fall. Attempting to move my arm hurt making me moan in pain.

“Sleep, it’s broken, you will be safe. Someone who has admired our home this long shouldn’t become a shark snack, another human will find you soon.” A soft honey voice turned into a melodic humming a song softly soothing me, just as I felt sand beneath my skin and seen a beautiful woman with an iridescent tail return to the water leaving me on the beach to be found later by a passerby I fell unconscious.

Sitting in the cold plastic chair I came out of my thoughts, of course when I woke up in the hospital and recounted my journey to that sandy beach nobody believed me when I said I was saved by a mermaid. Instead, it earned me an extra week in the hospital and I had to lie and say I must have gotten lucky and made it back to shore after falling now I was sitting in a dark room waiting for a detective to return for more questions.

The door creaked open as a man stepped in.

“Miss. Blake you can go home, however, please take my card and if you decide to let us in your original story please call me.” The tall detective closed his suit jacket after sliding a car across the metal table to me.

“ I won’t need it I was delirious when they pulled me off that beach, mermaids” I laughed “ How ridiculous, I was definitely in shock from my fall. I apologize for wasting your time Detective.” I took his card to appease him shoving it into my jacket pocket as I left the room quickly exiting the police station faster than they drug me in her. I felt eyes on me as I left and retreated to the safety of my home.

True or not I was never telling anyone about their existence again they’d never be safe I’m just thankful to be here and not be a shark snack I giggled thinking back to that nearly tragic but magical day in the cove.

Advocacy

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Misha AlslebenWritten by Misha Alsleben

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.