Earth logo

Star Emerald

Don't we all wish stars could come in many different rainbow colours rather than how we see them every night?

By PC MelpezPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Star Emerald
Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

Darkness fell into a gaze that very few would get the opportunity to look upon rarely, the night sky brightened with the lights of the north as a mist of greenness danced upon the rays, twirling, and canoeing like bizarre tsunami waves erupted from emerald ocean so softly as though it gave a glimpse of heaven from above. The rays stretched, spread, and sprayed so astonishingly beautiful in such spectacular brightness of lush, quite like swarming, dimensional, Teale-coloured wave tubes of the heavens. Your eyes never wanting to take your eyes of from the dark greenish skies, as though all will be well, safe in your surroundings, a stream of relaxation through the mind and without a worry in the world. The Northern lights were what dreams could be if they were ever allowed to dance so free in the skies.

But on that night, I tried my best to keep my eyes firmly on the road whilst driving in my Jeep Wrangler along the quiet highway in a near deserted area. It was wonderful view of the evening, though the extravagant whipping swirls of the emerald glows above was a little distracting without taking me of course from the road by the dashing displays from above the emblazoned Northern Lights high over that was always hard to ignore.

After over ten miles of driving, I pulled over to a nearby barren rocky area from beside the road, so long I was somewhere tranquil without any disturbance or interruption to pursue with my work research.

My research involves astronomy work into studying the outstretches of the stars and for any data analyses of comets moving by even though no so thing has ever occurred in my lifetime to witness it.

I took out my equipment of my astrophysics booklet for research/information, diary for to list down anything that may happen on the nights from any possible shooting stars or whatsoever, and most importantly my long-widened telescope with a tri-pod attached to it.

My dream was to become an astronomer as I originally planned to be an astronaut, but because of the excellence with my nerdy research rather than my surveillance of engineering techniques of space, I was better of studying the outer rims of space to give any possible outcomes of what maybe of the galaxy if not the universe. Still my passion as a physic scientist of the research of becoming an astronomer endeavoured and I always wondered what it would be like above of the mysterious of space, but who knows?

I had everything checked down research wise and I kneeled down with one eye open to view through the telescope. The night sky with the Northern lights still soaring through and beyond, the stars counted on endlessly as there was so many at this time and the moon glared down lighted with dimmed moon rays. It was definitely late at night, but the surroundings of the view almost felt as though it was at the late afternoon twilight displaying in awe.

Stargazing above, I kept my eyes fixed on the sparkling dazzles of the stars slowly tilting my telescope to the side upwards, taking my time to spot anything out of the blue from the midnight sky if anything did or would occur as anything ever did but I always continued regardless.

Until that moment came just after placing my phone down to check the time, I placed one eye back through the telescope view when I spotted an unfamiliar mysterious shining green object of a star that looked like it was gliding downwards in zig zags.

In a heartbeat, I take my eye out of the telescope to star gaze above with both eyes, to see if I wasn’t hallucinating or as if the stars weren’t playing mind games with the Northern Lights swaying along, but I could the emerald star zooming downwards at great speed that looked as though it was about to hit the ground eventually.

I place an eye back on the telescope for a brief moment to get a better glimpse of the falling star, at first it may have looked like a U.F.O or a comet crashing landing from a lifelong journey through space. But this enigmatic emerald star looked so small and moving so bizarrely in a snaking cascade when it came descending to the flat earth, as I took my eye out of the telescope just in time to see the impact of the fallen green star crash onto the ground at about four hundred yards away from where I kneeled until stood up.

I instantaneously packed all my equipment as quick as I could in the boot of the Jeep, dashed in the driver’s seat, placed the key in the ignition at a fast struggle of a rush and sped the car of land to where the mystifying green star-thing crashed to the site ahead.

This is my dream now, my goal, my target and I never thought it would be my destiny either, all the years of research becoming an astronomer I shall maybe one day find out if there are any other falling stars of green, even if it takes me a lifetime or a possibility of never again, I shan't and I won't give up either way.

Science
Like

About the Creator

PC Melpez

I'm simply someone who loves to write stories and poetries

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.