Earth logo

Squirrelzilla

I'm reunited with an old nemesis.

By Jennisea RedfieldPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Squirrelzilla
Photo by Valentin Petkov on Unsplash

“What the walnuts are you doing here?” The high pitched, demanding voice made me jump out of my skin. I stood outside, walking along the path that lines my apartment and the river. I was lost in thought when the voice spoke.

“Whose there?” I ask, demanding the presence of my unseen companion. I scanned the trail, not seeing anything. I slowly pushed my hand into my pocket, palming my pen and getting ready to use it as a weapon.

“I am! Move your giant feet, Giant! You’re standing on a yummy bit!” I glanced down to my feet, noticing I was standing on scattered birdseed.

“Who’s talking to me? Fuck, am I going insane now?!” I panicked, but still stepped away from the birdseed.

“Insane? No, stupid Giant! Up here!” curiously, I glanced up. And I met someone I haven’t seen in a couple years.

“Squirrelzilla!” I proclaimed, happy to see my rodent nemesis. Squirrelzilla chittered, her ploofy tail twitching like a lure.

“Hello again, Stupid Giant. You left your nest, and I never got any more yummy bits.” the massive squirrel grumbled. My face broke into a wide, semi crazy grin.

Squirrelzilla was this giant squirrel the size of a large housecat that would go out of her way to chase me when I took out my trash. We had standoffs that normally resulted in my being chased, or me throwing the rotund tree rat an apple core, sunflower seeds, or half a ham sandwich. No wonder she was so fat.

She wasn’t as fat as she once was. In fact, despite still being quite stout, she was thinner than when I saw her last. It pained me to see her so much smaller.

“I want those yummy bits. Move, you stupid Giant.” I scowled as the damn squirrel called me a stupid giant once again. But I listened. The fat squirrel then ran as fast as her squat little body could manage and stuffed her face with seeds. I giggled at her scattered way of eating.

“Come by tomorrow and I'll leave you some apples.” I told her. Her mouth was too full to talk, but I could see the greedy gleam in her eyes.

~~~…~~~

“Stupid Giant! Stupid Giant! Where are you?” squeaked the high-pitched voice of Squirrelzilla, demanding little rodent.

“I’m right here. Got some apples for you. And a scoop of peanut butter. Eat up quick, or the cats will get you.” I teased. I took a few steps back and watched as Squirrelzilla darted over with impressive speed and began to nibble on some apple slices. I chuckled as she even chased away some inquisitive birds from her little feast. Greedy little shit.

“Stupid Giant.” I glared down at the squirrel, scowling as she still called me a stupid giant.

“What is it?” I asked.

“I’ll be back for more yummy bits. I want water next time.” the hoity little hairball demanded. I chuckled.

“Sure. I’ll leave out a bowl. I’ll leave out more seeds just in case.” I replied. Squirrelzilla used her dexterous little hands to clean out the peanut butter in her fur.

“These are my yummy bits. I do not share.” she snipped. I chuckled again.

“I know.” I watched the little creature work her way up into a nearby tree, shaking loose drying pinecones and needles.

“Hey, Squirrelzilla?” I called out. A thought occurred to me. I couldn’t see the squirrel anymore, but I knew she heard me.

“What is it, Stupid Giant?” I heard her snip out.

“Am I going insane? I can hear you talking, as plain as you were speaking English. Is this all in my head?” I ask her. I heard the little huff she made.

“All words are in your head. You are no more crazier than me. Don’t forget my yummy bits.” I didn’t hear anymroe from her. But I was smiling.

“I’m no more crazier than a squirrel chungus, huh?” I whispered to myself. I walked back into my apartment. I wonder if I can speak to my cats.

One way to find out.

short storyNature
Like

About the Creator

Jennisea Redfield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.