Earth logo

Space Saving Tire Garden Towers

Homesteading in a small space

By Hope MartinPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

In a previous article, I told you why I am crazy about tire gardens.

They are convenient, low cost, efficient, fun, and have the capacity to be beautiful. And when you have a limited amount of space they are absolutely wonderful with helping you maximize your gardening output.

I bet you're wondering how though? Tires can be bulky and wide, and laying side by side they can take up a lot of space. And that is why I maximize my garden space with tire towers. I have a lot of land, but most of it is forest. So the one large patch of constant sun I have, I have to utilize in a smart way.

My mind and Brussel sprouts are kind of going crazy!!

My problem is I have a family who like to eat, and we like to eat healthy. But healthy food is expensive. So every year I like to grow as many vegetables and fruits as I can to help my family cut out on food expenses. I grow tons of different types of peppers (my husband is a jalapeno-head), cabbage, lettuce, carrots, cucumbers, okra, several types of squash, blueberries, strawberries, mints, rhubarb, tomatoes, watermelon, Brussel sprouts pumpkins... and I've even started a grape patch (there's more, but I can't think of them right now...). But how I grow the whole farm if I am limited in space?

Holy Brussel sprouts…

The answer is quite simply tire towers my friends. With one tire tower, I can grow anywhere between 11 to 21 plants in one space, depending on if you double up the plants that will thrive in a shared space. So how do you make a garden tower? Easy.

Step 1: The bottom level

This step takes the most tires. You're going to want to line the bottom of the tire garden with a tarp. Or if you're like me, you can go fully cost-efficient and recycle your potting soil bags as liners for your tower or whatever trashbags you have available to start. You make a flower shape with the tires. This keeps weeds from growing in your garden and helps prevent the roots of your plants from going into your grown if you don't want them to. A smaller tire will go in the center (I use size 12 to 14) and then you will put a bigger size (I use sizes 15 to 18 tires) around that one, all of them touching. It should look like a flower shape when you're done. You want the biggest tires on the bottom. There should be 5 or 6 tires, depending on the size you're using.

Step 2: The next tier up

This tier is going to take 4 to 5 tires, and you're going to want to use a smaller tire size than the bottom level. You're going to place these tires 'between' the tires on the bottom. Looking through, you should be able to see two tires touching in the middle of the tires. This maximizes your space for plants on the bottom tier.

Step 3: The Third Tier

This one will take 3 to 5 tires, depending on what size tires you're using. Once again, you're going to use a smaller size tire than the other two tiers you've done. And once again, you're going to place the tires 'between' the lower level, so that two tires touching can be seen through the middle of the tires you place.

Step 4: The top!

The top layer is fun, because you can choose to either use a bigger tire, a taller tire, or an even smaller tire at the top. You should place it in the direct center of the third tier.

Step 5: Don't forget the paint (optional)

If you live in a really hot place - I highly recommend painting your towers. The tires in the direct sun will get really hot, and if you live in a place where it's too hot you could burn your roots out with the heat (unless you're growing plants that are specifically conditioned for the high heat.) You want to go for lighter colors that deflect heat. Plus, it makes it super pretty and the pain really stands out.

And incomplete tower for a better visual!

Now for my caveat to this article. Tire towers take a lot of soil. We're talking bales of it. Usually for size 16 tires, it takes about half of a bale to fill up. But if that isn't going to deter you, then you're in for an amazing garden full of plants! I hope this helps anyone who may be considering starting a tire garden, or at least gave you ideas!

HumanitySustainabilityNature
Like

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.