Earth logo

Saving the Seas with a Broom and Dustpan!

A Splashing good job!

By Kohaku Dragon Rose Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Amber in a recovery tank. She has since fully recovered & been released!

I work at an aquarium. A non-profit staffed with fabulous educators, amazing sea turtle rehabilitators, and an awesome conservation team that is saving wetlands. My department is Environmental Services (ES) Which is a fancy way of saying I'm a janitor. I’m well aware of the stereotypes of jobs like mine, they’re not always wrong. It is a fair amount of physical labor. I do have to clean up disgusting things. And like any other public service job, guests can be frustrating and do annoying things such as: flushing diapers causing the restroom to flood, staying fifteen to thirty minutes after closing forcing me to get off late, and mixing trash and recycling. But in all truth this is the best job I’ve ever had!

My last jobs were retail and food & Beverage. The companies were empty and soulless. I was stuck in windowless, over heated environments for 10-16 hour shifts, dealing with workplace bullying and rude customers. I used to hide in the bathroom just to get a break and get off my feet. I would often have to go against my morals of not wasting food and being environmentally responsible. I was actually written up for giving away good food instead of throwing it out. I hated it!

I didn’t realize the effects of these awful workplace environments until I started working at the aquarium. During my first week there, I got home one day and realized I had energy left because I worked a regular eight hour shift. Then I almost cried from happiness when the bosses told me how much they appreciated me and gave us all raises and bonuses during COVID-19. When I contracted COVID-19 myself, the company gave me paid time off for the duration of my quarantine plus sent me a $30 DoorDash gift card. All my co-workers and bosses are kind and accepting, we have workers of all backgrounds, genders, sexualities, and abilities. The workplace itself is wonderful! I'm almost always on the floor, which is the guest area with the exhibits. There are giant windows that let in tons of sunlight, proper air conditioning, calming music and animals. My official work day might be sweeping, cleaning glass, and sanitizing interactive exhibits. But my unofficial work day is having a staring contest with our bald eagle, visiting the recovering sea turtles, and my favorite, observing the octopus. Isn’t that amazing?

The aquarium is the most eco-friendly establishment I've worked for and not just green-washed like my previous workplaces. Before COVID-19, hosting public trash sweeps were a regular occurrence for the aquarium. There is even a litter sweep app for locals to use so they can report litter data to the aquarium and Department of Natural Resources. We are allowed to shadow other departments and I was blessed with the chance to shadow conservation and education. Conservation is working hard to restore marshes and reduce plastic waste. Education shares knowledge of our local ecosystem and why we need to conserve them. Shadowing and working in this eco-conscience place has motivated me to self study and read again about environmental and biological topics. The waste crisis and cephalopods are my favorite subjects at the moment.

My job by itself might not mean much, but it’s an important piece of the aquarium system. My work of keeping spaces clean and sanitized helps my coworkers to stay healthy so they can continue their incredible work. It helps guests to enjoy their visits so they can learn more about the local ecosystems. Even though it's annoying and a bit depressing that guests mix up trash and recycling, I actually kind of enjoy sorting it back out. It's fascinating what can end up in the trash and it’s fun to see what people think is recyclable. Diapers, gum and food are the most common objects I find mis-recycled. As you might guess I clean a lot of glass and acrylic. Mostly children’s handprints as they lean against a tank, staring in awe at their new aquatic friends. It's heartwarming to see so I don’t mind wiping off their handprints, symbols of their curiosity and wonder. But I would get annoyed about having to wipe off adult hand prints, thinking they were just being careless jerks. Until one day I saw an older person leaning their hand against the acrylic just like a kid, their eyes sparkling with excitement. That's when I realized the joy of the underwater world is for all ages. I later learned this was that person's first aquarium visit. I felt strangely honored to have witnessed it.

Working at the aquarium has improved my mental and emotional health. Also possibly my physical health since I now have official breaks so I can get off my feet. I have made new friends, human and non-human. I feel loved and appreciated by co-workers and bosses. I regained my motivation for learning that I lost after becoming a college drop out. I actually care about my work now. And best of all, I'm happy at work now! (Even if I have to clean up puke sometimes.)

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kohaku Dragon Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.