Earth logo

RESET

By: Edwin Jerome White Jr

By Edwin White JrPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

If you are reading this then we are now living in the year of 2022. Making it this far in life is an accomplishment in itself. I honestly thought we would have flying cars and hoverboards by now. The pandemic has brought all of us an opportunity to look within, rather than looking at the world for answers. It’s given us an opportunity to look more in the mirror, reflecting with our reflections. We all have goals and it’s very important to dream, but it’s also just as important to rest and release the pressures that consume us on a daily basis. You can only dream if you sleep ironically. Recharge, reposition and have patience with yourself. I like to see the beginning of the year as a reset button. Nothing that happened last year matters. Imagine if you treated everyday like this, especially the rough ones. Nothing that happened yesterday matters, all that matters is that you try your best and love what you put out into the world. Do what makes you happy, because all the money in the world won’t fill your void if you are not at peace within. My plans this year are to commit to my growth, and emitting positive energy regardless of what trials come my way. I’m choosing to relax and let everything that is supposed to happen find it’s way to me. Journaling is a form of release for me because I am often overthinking and imagining the worse scenarios. In those intimate moments of writing I am free, abundant, and honest. No one to say that this is wrong or that is right. I look at the pen as my paintbrush, allowing me to be authentic and as imaginative as a child. Storytelling is a fine art and craft that I admire and take pride in. We all have a story, and each of them is important. You are the main character in the storyline. You choose when this page turns. The daily routine of your life creates habits that you want and others you despise. I committed to my daily routine to make sure I feel comfortable in my own skin. I look at our bodies as our true homes. We should all want our house to be nice and neat. Clear that mental trash that’s in your head, recycle your efforts and put it towards doing something productive. It could be riding a bike, giving old clothes to the less fortunate, or even reading a book. Life is an experience that you have a opportunity to do something new every day. Where we can create just as we have been created. I make sure to love myself and the person who I see in the mirror. There use to be times when self love was not a priority on my to-do list. Then I realized it makes a difference in my day to day life. Discipline is needed in this life to reach goals, but if you burn out all your fuel before you reach the goal you’ll never make it there. On the journey pit stops are effective, not only is it a place of rest, its also a point to see how far you came even if you haven’t reached your destination yet. I am open to explore and to adventure, digging deeper into my self discovery journey. Certain things that are within you make you who you are, but it’s also things about you that may surprise and peak your interest. Find those things and share them with the world. The success you seek is right outside your comfort zone!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Edwin White Jr

LIFE IS ART AND YOUR WORDS ARE THE COLOURS...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.