Earth logo

Outside My Door

Nature

By Angie JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Outside My Door
Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

I woke up before the alarm this morning. The darkness was slowly being overcome by light. I grabbed my first cup of coffee and headed out to the lanai. I slowly sipped the delicious hot beverage allowing it to work its magic. I sat in my cushioned wicker chair mentally preparing myself for the day. In my mind, I went through my checklist of what lies ahead of me for the day. I had to go to the post office, the library, stop at the grocery store to get milk, etc.

However, this morning I sat alone. This morning paused to observe my surroundings and truly appreciate them. I just didn’t see what was outside my door, I took the time to enjoy what I saw. There were two different color cardinals that visit the feeder frequently.

The sun is fully awake playing peek-a-boo with the clouds. When it is able it illuminated the backyard for me to see nature around me. The small orange tree is full of the harvest ready to be picked. The bush next to the shed is in full bloom with purple flowers. I don’t know the name of the plant species, but I will have to put that on my things-to-do list to look up later. I digress, a beautiful orange Monarch butterfly flutters around the purple flowers. Its markings are perfect symmetry of orange stain-glass-like panels outlined in thick black lines with white dots around the edges of its wings.

The birds were holding full conversations with each other through various tones of chirps and whistles. In the yard are cardinals which are regular visitors. The cardinal with the brighter, red-colored feathers is the male. The females are duller brownish-red in color. I watched how the males chased the females around. They hopped through the grass and then took flight immediately to continue the chase. The male is gentle around the ladies, yet very persistent. The females seemed to enjoy playing hard to get.

Along with the birds chasing each other from tree branch to tree branch, the squirrels were helping themselves to the seeds in the bird feeder. One of my cats was chasing around the lizards that managed to find a way into the lanai from under the screen enclosure. The other cat was sneaking over to the arrangement of plants in the corner and sneaking a nibble from the leaves she could reach. A typical morning.

The pool filter turned on and the fresh smell of chlorine was being carried toward me in the slight breeze this morning. The same light breeze carried the smells of fresh-cut grass from a few houses down. There was also another familiar smell in the air. The smell was getting stronger with each gust of gentle wind. The combination of the smell and the cool air on my skin indicated rain was on the way.

I heard the different sounds and identified them as a chainsaw, a leaf blower, and a lawnmower. The neighbors were out walking their dogs as they do every morning about this time. A few barks are exchanged as they passed each other to remind one another to stay clear of their human handler. In the distance, I heard rolling rumbles of thunder from the approaching storm. I knew that mother nature would unleash her fury on us with a torrential downpour. Life outside would be halted for a little while.

Well, the rain shower was about thirty minutes. The rain was expeditious causing flooding to low-pitched yards and roadways. However, within a small amount of time, the puddles receded and everyone resumed their activities as if the storm didn’t interrupt at all.

This morning I really enjoyed my quiet time with no electronic devices to distract me from the wonderful world right outside my door.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Angie Johnson

I share life with my awesome husband, our 3 adult children, and our 2 cats. I am a lover of books and strive to be a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.