Earth logo

On a Biodiversity Note

Peel Me a Grape

By Joyce Plair-JordanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2021

Intro

It's funny how powerful words can be when the world is out of tune. I clear my voice to tell you how words have penetrated my mind, and they have made me rethink choices, make changes, and become an advocate for healthy living. Now...how I came about these texts is merely coincidental.

Read About the Issues

La-La-La...I used to perm my hair to make it straight, until I read an article in Essence magazine that told of the toxins that seep through the scalp during a relaxer impairing my health while also increasing the toxicity in the air. If you are familiar with the natural texture of Black hair, you get a sense of the challenge of not perming it. My hair is course, and it shrinks in the humidity and when it gets wet (because it wants to follow a curl pattern). I have opted for braids, cute little twisted styles, and the world famous Afro. Sometimes I feel my look is dated, but it's a sacrifice I make to improve my health and minimize damage to Mother Earth. Don't get me wrong--there are periods when I wear wigs and weave, and dye my hair only four times a year (every three month). This was major.

Reduce Daily Chemical Use

Verse

One summer way back in 1998, I read an article in a woman's health magazine whose topic was global warming. It influenced me to stop purchasing aerosol spray deodorants. At that time, I absolutely hated roll-on antiperspirants. They can be messy leaving white stains on the underarms of your blouse. And worst of all, people can see white crinkle lines in your arm pit when your arm is raised. This choice was painful, but looking on the bright side, I was willing to experiment with various brands and found selections that went on dry, was invisible, and lasted all day. Eventually, I will progress to using natural oils (I'm taking my time...that's a higher jump to the deep).

Water conservation, my third and most prized choice for minimizing damage to the world, came about through a doctor visit. I always seize the opportunity to read, and although none of my favorites were available, I picked up some science journal. It shared the intricate details of calculating your personal water index and taunted that using less water is good.

Be at One with Nature

Pre-Chorus

So what did I implement n my life? To bathe either at night or in the morning, but not both (under usual circumstances). Please do not misunderstand me to say that I agree to being stink and dirty. I don't. If I have an early morning workout, then there is an extra shower. When my period is on--there is no limit (other scenarios warrant an extra shower/bath as well). However, I tend to do more body brushing, bubble baths, and alternate the use of a regular wash cloth and bath gloves to clean my skin. In addition, I do not run the water as I brush my teeth. It doesn't really feel like it now, but it did kind of take an act of congress to bring this to reality.

The Planet is in Our Hands

Chorus

Today, I was craving a steak, and little mattered aside from where I would get it, and how I would like it cooked. Shall I partake of it at breakfast, lunch, or dinner? Rare, medium-well, or well-done? Most often, when considering a meal, all that is taken into consideration is what you want and when. I felt some type of way as I recalled information from a recent article. I can tell you the title and author's name because I just read it (Meat Production Leads to Thousands of Air Quality-Related Deaths Annually by Sarah Gibbens).

I was the first skeptic of this National Geographic article as I read the charge. "Meat production leads to thousands of air quality related deaths yearly." I scuffed as the thought as I walked through the facts. "How could a burp make the air I breathe impure?" Well, it's not that simple. There's a process that goes into the final product which ends up being the succulent T-Bone topped with A1.

Toxins Kill People

Bridge

First, think about emission sources called particulate matter. They form because of tainted air made by factories, cars, and wildfires and become the main culprit in ailments of the lungs and respiratory system. The production of animal related products like corn grown for animal food, fuel, and livestock feed contribute heavily. Animal agriculture harms the environment when crops are fertilized, engine tractors burn diesel fuel, and when the livestock waste cannot be managed.

What do I feel compelled to do? I will become a Flexitarian. The term is new to me, but all it means is that I will eat less meat. I will be flexible by consuming larger amounts of fruits and vegetables while consuming less meat. Now, I want to be an advocate of sorts to encourage others to pursue a healthy diet that includes some meat, but not all the time. Scientists believe meat consumption must be reduced by 50% in order to reduce climate change inducing gases and preserve land and our oceans.

This global warming thing has changed my life--literally.

Sustainability

About the Creator

Joyce Plair-Jordan

Depicting life as real as I can make it, poetry and narratives have been the canvas. I consider myself an anthropologist of sorts, even though, I am an educator by trade. A Bachelors in English, a Masters in Education, and a PhD in life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joyce Plair-JordanWritten by Joyce Plair-Jordan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.