Earth logo

Nature and all of its mysteries

A personal reflection

By Rambler's SocietyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Nature and all of its mysteries
Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

I miss the cool breeze in the morning. The sun that always finds its way into my eyes left warm kisses upon my cheeks. It felt magical, the brief everlasting hour before the heat from the sun made everything unbearable. These were the mornings of undeniable bliss for me. It was quiet. The birds chirped in the distance, there were chickens even further out giving out their second alarm of the morning, and the occasional car passing by, but other than those instances it was just me.

I felt at peace during these mornings. I can’t help but wonder if this is what being one with the earth really feels like. It wasn’t a drug filled trip where I needed any substances to feel like my feet were melting into the grass. I wasn’t seeing anything crazy, it was just the beauty of my surroundings. I wasn’t physically one with nature, but mentally at peace with it. I watched and observed. I let the small gusts of wind take me where they wished and felt the calmness of the midmorning beneath my skin. It was truly an experience I never grew tired of.

My meditative routine really enriched the rest of my day. Leaving nothing but vigor and pride in my work for the rest of the morning, I could tackle anything that came in my way. I tried bringing my partner with me to hopefully engage in such a positive momentary retreat, but my efforts were thwarted. I don’t blame him. If I had the ability to sleep all day I would. Maybe someday he’ll venture out of his warm cave to sit with me in the early morning. It would be a shame for someone to miss out on such an experience. Especially later on in their adult life.

Young adults, teenagers, willfully stay up all night just for the thrill of the exhausted rush of delirium in their veins. I was one of them, my partner was one of them, and I’m sure there are plenty more who can remember the days that never ended. Sleep was for the weak, and we all pushed ourselves to the limits those nights. The parallels of those never-ending nights, and these brief mornings of peace are far and few between. One glaring similarity would be the lasting feeling afterwards.

The feeling of freedom and power while being as light as a feather. Being one with your surroundings yet only a fraction of its functions. A sole puzzle piece in a mass of puzzle pieces orchestrating a beautiful artwork. Nature itself didn’t move around me so much as it moved with me. I wasn’t a stone damming the water of a river but a pebble that watched the flow above my head. The sounds were deafening with silence, yet by the time their symphony was over I’d wish to hear it all over again.

I question to myself if others around the world, even in the tallest of concrete jungles could see what was all around them. It might be harder, or maybe just different. They probably find their own oases to fall into. I hope that even after the rebellious teenager phase of everyone’s lives they can reach out of their routine to find a mesmerizing place and time to lose themselves in. Even if for just a moment out of their day, even if it wasn’t someplace far away. The ability to fill oneself with the peace of your surroundings can be an enlightening moment. To each their own, to each person who needs it, they’ll find their way.

Nature
1

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • David Morton Rintoulabout a year ago

    Pausing to be part of nature, even in the middle of the city is good for us and good for the Earth, too! Thanks for a great read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.