Earth logo

Natural Gardening Philosophy

As a young boy, my grandfather handed me a ripe tomato from his garden. The taste was unlike any other tomato I had eaten. He told me he grew it naturally. This small moment had a big impact on me. I became interested in gardening and realized the benefits of natural solutions. I started to apply these principles to other areas of my life, like eating whole foods and exercising. This moment set me on a path of purpose and direction, and I am grateful for the lesson my grandfather taught me.

By Raza aliPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

There are certain moments in our lives that we can never forget. They may seem insignificant at first, but their impact can be profound. For me, one of those moments occurred when I was just a young boy, and it changed the way I viewed the world forever.

It was a warm summer day, and my family and I were visiting my grandparents in their small town. My grandfather had recently retired, and he had taken up gardening as a hobby. He was particularly proud of his vegetable garden, which he had been tending to all season. As we walked through the garden, my grandfather picked a few ripe tomatoes and handed them to me.

"Here you go, son," he said with a smile. "Try one."

I had never been a big fan of tomatoes, but I took one anyway and took a bite. To my surprise, it was the most delicious tomato I had ever tasted. It was sweet, juicy, and bursting with flavor.

"Wow, Grandpa," I said. "This is amazing! What did you do to make it taste so good?"

My grandfather chuckled. "I didn't do anything special, son," he said. "I just let it grow naturally, and it turned out like this."

That small moment, that one bite of a perfectly ripe tomato, had a big impact on me. It made me realize that there was something special about growing things naturally, without any chemicals or artificial additives. It made me appreciate the hard work and dedication that my grandfather had put into his garden.

Over the years, I became more and more interested in gardening myself. I started growing my own vegetables, and I quickly learned that it was a lot harder than it looked. There were pests to deal with, weeds to pull, and soil to amend. But I persevered, and I eventually became quite good at it.

As I got older, I began to realize that my grandfather's philosophy of natural gardening had broader implications. I started to think about how our modern society was so focused on artificial solutions to problems. We used chemicals to grow our food, drugs to treat our illnesses, and technology to solve our problems. But what if there was a better way?

I started to look for ways to apply the principles of natural gardening to other areas of my life. I started to eat more whole foods and less processed junk. I started to exercise regularly and spend more time outdoors. And I started to think more critically about the decisions I made, asking myself whether they were truly in line with my values.

It wasn't always easy, and there were times when I felt like I was swimming against the tide. But that small moment with my grandfather had given me a sense of purpose and direction. It had shown me that even the smallest things could have a big impact.

Years later, as I stood in my own garden, watching the sun set over the rows of vegetables, I thought about how far I had come. I thought about the lessons that my grandfather had taught me, and I felt grateful for the small moment that had set me on this path.

As I harvested a basket of ripe tomatoes, I couldn't help but smile. They tasted just as sweet and delicious as the ones my grandfather had grown so many years ago. And I knew that I had him to thank for that small moment that had changed my life forever.

short storyNatureClimate
Like

About the Creator

Raza ali

I am a story teller I share my thoughts and stories with you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.