Earth logo

My Quasi Eco-Friendly-ism

My Goal for my Everyday Life to Help the Planet

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - May 2022
14
My Quasi Eco-Friendly-ism
Photo by Photo Boards on Unsplash

In case you haven't seen anything, over the last few months, TV commercials, ads on social media, and so on have been pushing for products to be sustainable and eco-friendly.

And as I've been reevaluating and adjusting my goals and beliefs, I have become more aligned with these messages.

While I've always been an avid recycler and prefer using natural cleaning and beauty products, I had no idea how much more I could be doing until around March of this year.

Why the Shift?

As I was scrolling through Facebook, I saw an ad for underwear that replaces the need for feminine hygiene care when it's your time of the month.

The ad talked about how waste is usually involved in using pads and tampons, how the underwear could absorb lots of blood, how much tampons and pads would be kept from our landfills, and that they are machine washable.

I also saw an ad around the same time about how much plastic and water are used to make regular toothpaste, the product being toothpaste tabs you bite down on.

It shocked me and made me realize how wasteful I had been since eleven. And probably farther back than that. And I wanted to change my wasteful ways.

So, I decided to buy both of these products and give them a try (I was almost out of toothpaste anyways).

And you know what?

I love them.

They're good for the planet and cost-effective in the long run, and many of these products take up less space than their counterparts, making me want to purchase more sustainable and eco-friendly stuff.

Bite Toothpaste

From Bite website

They are toothpaste tabs that you bite down on before using the wet bristles of your toothbrush to clean your teeth.

Bite foams up in your mouth as you brush your teeth, giving you a rather luxurious sensation and clean teeth when you're finished.

They come in two sizes; small, which I believe is a thirty-day supply, but I'm not sure. And the large container, holding two hundred, forty-eight tabs, is the one I got.

There are three flavors; mint, mint with charcoal, and berry for those who don't care for traditional toothpaste flavors.

I use the one with charcoal since I want whiter teeth, plus I like having minty fresh breath. And it has helped with my tooth sensitivity, which was a lovely surprise.

I also bought the whitening gel, which is quite gentle. And I do notice my teeth slowly lighting up.

It saves both water and plastic from being used. And since there is no water inside the tabs, there are no additives to keep the water fresh. In addition, all the ingredients are natural and safe (except for pets, so be careful.)

They also make mouthwash tabs, bamboo toothbrushes, floss, and refillable deodorant, which I plan to try when my other stuff runs out.

There are other brands making toothpaste tabs, but Bite is the one I use and recommend.

The Period Company Underwear

From Period Company website

Wouldn't it be nice if we didn't have to carry around pads or tampons in our pockets or purses every time Aunt Flow came by for her monthly visit?

Well, thanks to companies like The Period Company, that wish is granted.

They're making underwear and reusable pads from light to heavy flows, as well as underwear for those with weaker bladders.

These garments hold anywhere between three to ten full-tampon amounts of blood without the wearer feeling wet and icky.

I chose The Period Company because out of all the brands I investigated, they were the least expensive and were high quality from the reviews.

While their sports and sleeper undies are $25, the regular pairs are only $9-$12, cheaper than brands like Thinx, which start at $20 for a normal pair.

And the undies are easy to clean. You just ring them out under hot water, then throw them into the washing machine with similar colors.

And while the color selection isn't much, the company has promised to bring in more exciting colors for their products.

Grove Collaborative

From Grove Collaborative website

Grove Collaborative is a company with a mission to end the plastic crisis. All of their products are plastic neutral, which vary from cleaning to personal care.

They also carry items from other brands, and you can donate money to certain sustainability and eco-recovery causes.

And everything can be done through their app.

The one downside is that since they don't use shipping services like FedEx or UPS, your Grove box may not show up at your house, depending on where you live.

I tried ordering from the app once, and neither that box nor the replacement box showed. I'm not saying it wasn't delivered. It just wasn't delivered to my address.

Luckily, I got my money back, and Target sells some of their stuff, such as the cleaners and glass bottles.

I bought the multi-purpose cleaner, which is a concentrate that you mixed with water, a glass bottle, a glass soap dispenser, and a dish soap refill that comes in an aluminum bottle.

And I love all of them.

The cleaners are made with natural ingredients and are mildly scented, so those with perfume sensitivities shouldn't be bothered. Unless you just don't like a scent.

Do I Plan to Purchase Any More Products?

Oh, yes, I do.

I have found many products that I want to buy for the house, like bamboo toilet paper, and for myself, such as a bamboo desk, refillable flossers, and completely recyclable razors.

So Why Only Quasi?

The main reason is because I have to use the old products we have at home before I can go more eco.

At an early age, it was ingrained in me that I shouldn't throw away something just because I don't like it anymore.

And for the most part, I try to uphold the ideal because it's a good one. But it's getting harder now that I want to do my part to help our planet.

Such as using up the rest of my female products or the two bottles of mouthwash under our bathroom sink I have yet to open. Or even exchanging plastic bottles for cleaning products for glass ones.

We also don't have the space for me to store it all. Plus, even with my new job, I can't afford to go on an eco-friendly shopping spree. Not yet anyway.

So I have to slowly phase in these products as we run out of the old stuff. Yes, it's tedious and will probably take at least a year before our household becomes more eco-friendly, but it will be worth it.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Sustainability
14

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lily Elleabout a year ago

    I forgot all about the Bite tabs- I got them in a sample box an age ago and I did quite like them. Thanks for the tips on the other products. I am also "quasi" eco friendly. Unfortunately, cost is a big issue with some of these. I like Grove, but their stuff is so much pricier than conventional counterparts. Maybe some day manufacturers will be forced to shoulder some of the plastic crisis burden, and affordable, sustainable products will be the norm... I can dream, right? Lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.