Earth logo

My Quasi Eco-Friendly-ism Continued

How My Journey Has Progressed

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 10 months ago Updated 8 months ago 7 min read
Like
My Quasi Eco-Friendly-ism Continued
Photo by Photo Boards on Unsplash

If you read the first installment of this journey that I published a little over a year ago, you probably remember my quest to make the products I use more planet friendly.

And I've been keeping up the effort, finding more sustainable alternatives for stuff I already use.

These are new products I have started using since my last post. And no, these aren't listed by the date of purchase or the importance of the product.

Now, let's go down the list.

(Not all the pictures represent the specific product I use.)

quip Floss Pick

From quip website

Yes, it's a flossing pick. But not just any flossing pick. It's one that can be refilled and is plastic-free.

And I know some of you might ask, Why don't you use regular floss?

Well, I have a small mouth, so trying to stick both hands in there to use the flossing string properly is really difficult for me. And for a long time, I used disposable floss picks.

But then I ran across an ad for quip and realized how wasteful that was. So, I decided to try the reusable flossing pick with floss cartridges in its holder.

I've been using it for a while now. And so far, it works pretty well.

It's not perfect, as the floss likes to slip out of the pick's grip, at least for me. But all I throw away now is the floss itself, which is also more natural. And mine is the same color as it is in the picture.

Quip also has toothbrushes, toothpaste, mouthwash, water flossers, and even gum! And refills are automatically delivered to your door every three months, so you don't have to worry about reordering anything.

Plus, if you get a smart electric toothbrush, you can use their app to help you keep track of and improve your oral health.

I plan to get the electric toothbrush and water flosser when mine go kaput, as they run on batteries that last for three months at a time unless you get the rechargeable one.

Kitsch Shampoo and Conditioner Bars

From Kitsch website

Now this has turned out to be one of my favorite products.

You may have heard of or seen shampoo and conditioner bars that eliminate the use of plastic bottles.

Well, Kitsch is one of those brands, but it's more than that.

For one, it's a women-owned business, which is something I can get behind as a woman myself. And with that being the case, I know the products are geared toward women.

It also goes out of its way to not use plastic or new plastic in its products, even with the packaging.

Currently, I use their tea tree and mint clarifying shampoo bar and ultra-sensitive conditioner/shave bar. I've also used their charcoal body soap bar.

The shampoo works great, and this is the first conditioner I've used that doesn't weigh down my fine hair. And I use conditioner as shaving cream anyway, so it's nice to have a product meant for both uses.

My shower stuff now takes up less than a quarter of the shower space, especially since we have hooks to hang items on.

And like Amazon, Kitsch has its version of subscribe and save, so you save money by putting your orders on auto-deliver, which can be changed or canceled anytime.

But I will say that shampoo and conditioner bars might not work for everyone since there are different types that aren't my fine hair.

So while I do encourage this purchase, assess your hair needs and base your decision on that.

Amazon Aware

By Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

To be honest, this one hadn't been my first choice, despite my love for Amazon.

But it started with me wanting a facial moisturizer with plastic-free packaging. And at first, I found a face moisturizer bar, so I bought that.

But the first one caused my skin to erupt in tiny red bumps, and the second one didn't really absorb into my skin. Luckily, that second one also functioned as a lip balm, so that's what I use it for now.

So, I decided to check out Amazon Aware, having seen it as an alternative purchase. And while its moisturizer isn't in bar form, its packaging is plastic-free, so I figured I'd give it a go.

I chose the balancing moisturizer, and I like it. It's not heavy or greasy, which is great for my skin. And its design matches our bathroom aesthetic nicely.

Then I got the daily lotion quickly after, so my mom would stop complaining at me for using up her Gold Bond.

It's a good lotion, but I had to get the vanilla musk scent because the other ones were only refills. And I don't like the smell of fake vanilla. So next time, I'm gonna try getting the unscented one.

But Amazon Aware has many eco-friendly and climate pledge-friendly items, all for reasonable prices, so go check it out and see what you think.

Reusable Cotton Swabs

By Alexandra Tran on Unsplash

Yes, I know this one might sound odd, but reusable cotton swabs have become a thing.

Seeing a picture of a seahorse holding onto a Q-tip made me want to switch. And I couldn't help but think, I gotta save the seahorses! I have to buy these!

So I did, although it wasn't LastSwab like in the picture. And I've been using the ones I bought for about a week now, and they're not too bad. They clean my ears well enough.

However, since they are made of silicone instead of cotton, I have to dry my ears out after cleaning, something I hadn't considered when buying them.

But I'm going to use them and save the seahorses!

earthbreeze Detergent Sheets

From earthbreeze website

This one appealed to me for multiple reasons.

For one, as someone who lives in a place with limited space, having detergent sheets instead of jugs or pods creates much more space in our laundry cubby.

Another is that earthbreeze donates detergent to shelters and places similar whenever their product is purchased, which is something I'm more than happy to support.

It is also compatible with cold water washing; washing your clothes in cold water can help them last longer. And it uses up less energy, which can save you some money.

When I first showed my mom the sheets, she thought it was the coolest thing, buying some that day.

We use the unscented version because I don't like the fresh scent smell.

Blueland Toilet and Dishwasher Tablets

From Blueland website

Don't you just hate touching those toilet cleaner bottles? Especially after using them a few times?

Well, I do, so I went searching for a cleaner that was less gross. And I found Blueland toilet cleaning tabs. All you do is throw the tablet into the toilet bowl and wait for it to dissolve before scrubbing it clean with a brush.

They're fun to use and work great.

So then I got their dishwasher tabs, as they take up less space under the sink than the old ones by a lot. And they work well too.

The best part is that these products are plastic-free, and the refills come in biodegradable paper packaging, so no waste.

Other Purchases

While I've made other purchases, they didn't need an entire section to themselves, but I figured they are worth mentioning.

So here they are:

  • Safety Razor: A very new purchase, but the skin on my legs has been happy about it!
  • Reusable Cotton Rounds: These have been great for removing makeup and other things.
  • Reusable Microfiber Cloth Swiffer Pads: A great way to remove dirt and hair off the floor without waste.
  • Spray Mop: It's nice not needing wet pads to clean my floors anymore. Now I use a natural cleaner.
  • Bamboo Bed Sheets: These are the softest sheets I've had in a long time. And I like any product made with bamboo.

So, How is My Journey Going Overall?

I'd say it's going pretty well, although there is always room for improvement.

But I am proud of the progress I've made since the first article I wrote. And I will keep on moving forward with my quest.

And I hope you will join me!

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.