Earth logo

My Dream Job Creation

Macro Love Photography

By MacroLove Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I wake up and roll over to look at the evergreen trees glistening in the sun against the vibrant blue sky, and the trembling Aspen leaves dancing in the breeze. I feel the excitement of another day to bring my visualizations to life! The next project will be an oracle deck of trees... Tree Advocacy Oracle. It will do just that, advocate for the trees of British Columbia as so much more resourceful when left standing. It will make a huge impact on how people view their worth. They are not only for profit as lumber. They are alive and wise, medicine for the physical body and spirit, climate stabilizers, flood mitigators, and literally create the air we breathe. The cards will be tall and narrow with full colour photos of the entire trees against a transparent background on either white or kraft, eco-friendly card-stock. The details are fun to figure out as I piece together the design later with my blossoming skills as a graphic designer. Today though, is for finding the perfect tree models and taking their photos. I will hike into the forest and find the perfect example of a healthy Western White Pine (Pinus monticola) and hopefully a Paper Birch (Betula papyrifera). I grab my camera and the proper lens and prepare for my hike. It might be difficult to find a good specimen of Birch because they are actively suppressed in current forestry practice in BC. They are sprayed or brushed to prevent their growth, so the plantations for lumber harvest are priority. The problems with this are many. They are an important food source for animals like moose, deer, and beaver, and important nesting trees for many birds. Their suppression increases wildfire spread because they grow in groups, do not burn well, and create natural fire barriers in the forest. Spraying herbicide in the wilderness is detrimental to the whole food chain and kills other primary plants and tree species to create a monoculture. This is the opposite of biodiversity (diversity of life) and limits life considerably. It’s an attempt to grow only the tree species most profitable for harvest and nothing else. This is an example of what I am passionate about changing and bringing awareness to.

I love my job because every project I create makes a positive impact for the planet, brings awareness to the plants as sentient beings, and to environmental issues. It helps people along their healing journeys to follow their spiritual guidance and connect with nature. Connection with Mother Earth is so desperately needed now. She is our salvation for future generations. My business connects people to their true nature, passions, and path. Our true nature is found in nature. We are made of the elements of the earth and are built to live intricately with the plants. After all, they are what keep us alive. Our bodies are built to digest and respond to their chemistry, and they maintain our climate and atmosphere to sustain life. Our health reflects in the health of our environment and vice versa. We treat our environment like we treat ourselves. Many people struggle with self-love and care whether consciously or not. Humanity in general struggles with respect and love for each other, ourselves, and the planet. Many exploit natural resources for greed and likely exploit themselves on other levels. It’s all connected and we are all connected. Working on healing yourself within first will eventually reflect without in your environment. Collectively we can create amazing positive change or destruction. I love my job because everyday I get to contribute to positive change while I do what I love! I magnify love through my camera lens and my business is so much more than just another business. It teaches, heals, and helps. Macro Love Photography will continue to grow in great scale, scope, and capability.

This is not yet my reality. It is a mock-up of the dream job I am trying to manifest. If you’d like to help me get there, you can contribute to my current Kickstarter campaign that runs until September 21st, 2021. It is a way to pre-order my first passion project, Wildflower Power Oracle. A 77-card, eco-friendly oracle deck and guidebook of wildflowers native to Southern Interior BC, Canada. If the campaign is successful, I will be able to order the first print run, fulfil the pre-orders from the campaign, and retail the rest. If they all sell, it will generate enough income to print another batch and leverage this dream into a viable business. Pledging is risk free as you will not be charged if the campaign is unsuccessful. Macro Love Photography will always donate partial profits to select environmental and humanitarian organizations. The more it grows, the more it can give back. Please pledge through the following link if you’d like to help it sprout, help yourself, and the planet too.

short story
2

About the Creator

MacroLove

Nature photography, words, and art of great scale, scope, and capability. I intend to magnify love in all forms through my photos, writing, and creativity to inspire healing and love for nature, oneself, each other, and all life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.