Earth logo

Letting The Plants Grow

Just let the plants do their thing.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 10 months ago 4 min read
11
Photo by Author

The gardeners come on Monday mornings, usually around 11 A.M. I try to put the food out for the birds and squirrels long before then, so they have ample time to eat before the roar of lawnmowers scares them away. I’ve been doing that for a few years now. Bags of bird food with sunflower seeds and other seeds. Put out peanuts, pecans, walnuts for the squirrels. I give them water too… and while I have the hose… I water some of the plants and grass in the yard.

I live in an apartment, so it’s not like it’s my yard… but I’ve been here a while and it has sort of become my thing. My neighbors all talk to me and comment on it… neighbors in my building… and neighbors in the building next to us.

When little plants and weeds grow around in certain areas, especially by the big tree where all the animals hang out, the gardeners trim them. So, whatever grows in the dirt next to the tree… it never gets too big. Each Monday it gets trimmed.

Memorial Day came… that was on a Monday… so the gardeners were off and didn’t come. The plants that grew in the spot next to the tree weren’t trimmed. So, they grew bigger and bigger… by the time the next Monday came by… I can’t be sure, but I think the gardeners left them alone because they were so big. They sort of looked like someone intentionally planted something there. Each Monday came and passed and they didn’t trim the plants in that spot. They started getting really big.

Photo by Author

I wondered what they were going to be. I had my theories… one was that they would be sunflowers. I do put sunflower seeds out there after all. Sometimes I even hand feed them to the squirrels… only the ones comfortable enough with me to eat from my hand.

Photo by Author (of Author... and Pepe)

Pepe will always eat from my hand. Whether it’s peanuts or sunflower seeds or whatever. Not almonds, she doesn’t eat almonds.

Photo by Author (of Author... and Pepe)

So, the plants kept growing. Most of my neighbors who saw them enjoyed them and said they wondered what they would become too. A couple of my neighbors commented in more negative ways.

“Aren’t they supposed to trim them?”

“I really wish they would trim those weeds.”

That second one was the particularly funny one to me. I find it funny when people will use certain words to show their disgust. Weeds. Like they were these horrendous things. Additionally, I don’t know that we can even say they are weeds. Do we know that for a fact? Are they not just plants? The second funny part about this… was that this was a neighbor in a different building. So, my neighbor really wished they’d trim the weeds in our yard… not her yard.

You know… focus on your own yard. Right? You don’t need to worry about ours.

I further explained, I think they were turning into flowers. I said I thought they might be sunflowers. She said she wasn’t sure about that. They had tiny little yellow flowers on the side and they didn’t look like sunflowers to her. But I pointed out… they do have little yellow flowers on them… so they’re pretty nice.

She stayed firm on her, “wish they’d trim your weeds” and I stayed firm on, “they look nice.” And it was a moot point anyway. The gardeners weren’t trimming them. And none of us were going to.

Another Monday passed and the weeds were bigger. And really looking like they were becoming flowers.

Photo by Author

And then another Monday arrived… and everyone could tell… these are sunflowers. Huge and beautiful sunflowers.

Photo by Author

Admittedly, I didn’t really know where I was going when I wrote this. This was just something that happened… and when I thought of it in its entirety… it made me want to write about it. Maybe it’s just a little story. Or maybe there’s a variety of lessons here. Perhaps, giving something time to bloom and not designating it “a weed” before it has had time to do anything is in our best interest. Perhaps, it's a lesson in kindness. You give and you receive. I just feed the animals because I like to, and I know they’re hungry. But in feeding them, the sunflower seeds fell and planted themselves naturally, apparently, and all my watering of the yard helped them to grow. It wasn’t planned. But now we all have some beautiful sunflowers to look at.

Or maybe it’s just nature and we don’t need to read too much into it. Beautiful things sprout from the ground on occasion… if we let them.

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

Nature
11

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I loved this story; it literally grew on me like the supposed weeds. I'm glad you were inspired to write about it. It's stories like these that defines true beauty. Well done, Stephen.

  • ema10 months ago

    Sunflowers are beautiful, they are very strong and resistant plants! Technically many plants are considered weeds, meaning they are invasive, but that's why they grow fast! I think these sunflowers have earned the right to be there!

  • Awww, such a wonderful thing to happen! Oh and I love Pepe! I wish I can feed her. Also, your neighbour should not mind businesses that are not hers 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent story!!!

  • I enjoyed reading and Thank you for the lessons ❤️😉📝💯❗

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    OMG, I audibly gasped when I scrolled down and saw that sunflower! 🌻 Even though you suggested it might be one, it was exciting to see. I guess the gardeners recognized it. Sunflowers make me so happy. Sometimes if you just leave things alone, life will pleasantly surprise you with how it works out. That neighbor who doesn’t even live in the building sounds like a control freak, and I bet these happy accidents rarely happen to them. You are so kind to feed the squirrels.

  • I agree with Real, Pepe is cute. We have volunteer sunflowers in our yard as well. They are my wife's favorite. Each year I let them go to seed & volunteer themselves all over again. BTW, a weed is simply defined as something that's growing where you don't want it to grow. To your neighbor, it's a weed. To you (& to me), it's a beautiful sunflower. Here in Kansas, it's our state flower. They grow in abundance out in the country where I go for my walks & when they're in full bloom I can't resist taking tons of pictures of them.

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Awww Pepe is the cutest little thing!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Okay, that was a very beautiful story...

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I love this! I have quite a few “weeds” in my yard that my kids happily water and admire 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.