Earth logo

Is it a Bald Eagle?

I was camera ready this time...

By Eileen PatricePublished 3 years ago 4 min read

Recently while on my layover in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, I took a walk around the lovely little downtown. I didn't have enough time to go skiing, tubing, or anything wintry. I couldn't really sightsee either, as we had arrived late the night before and getting up early was out of the question. Touring the town was as close to "when in Rome" as my schedule would permit, and outside I ventured with a positive attitude that I was able to at least do that.

I was in awe of how the still snow covered mountains (with some grass) were right, there. I noticed the hotel my company put me up in had an English Tudor design to it. Something I hadn't noticed the night before when we arrived but that I was thrilled to see as its my favorite design. After a few simple turns down this street and the next, I realized I was either on the very set the Brady Bunch used when they were locked in that jail cell in a deserted country town, or I was in a bona fide western city.

It was the latter, thank goodness. I popped in and out of stores and realized Huckleberry is something Jackson Hole is known for, and can be made not only into a jelly and bbq sauce, but soaps and candies. I decided to get a little nosh and some coffee, oat milk latte to be specific. Covid still hanging in there, I was not allowed to sit inside the establishment I chose to go into. I decided to keep in line with my "when in Rome" theme as best I could locally. I opted to sit on a bench in a park (its town square) in the middle of town.

Each entry into this square had an arch of antlers. Something this town is known for as the Elk shed them on the big open lands nearby. The local Eagle Scouts collect them and sell them in this very park each year. I noticed that the middle of this park was actually a memorial for all the wars and branches of service. Perfect place to sit as my brother, God rest his soul, was a Marine. As I sat there enjoying my food and latte, the warmth of the early afternoon sun made me happy my coatless self wasn't freezing. I noticed a tall pine tree with branches up towards the top swaying due to an extremely loud bird or two in their homemade chalet among the pine.

Every so often I would get a glimpse of a wing span flapping inside the branches. That was when I realized this bird was not small. I hoped beyond hope that it was a Bald Eagle. How divine it would have been to see one up close. I had my camera at the ready, and started to take a video. On another trip a few years ago to Portland, Oregon, I was bike riding and stopped at a place to eat along the bike trail I was on. As the hostess sat me outside, we both witnessed a bald eagle flying over the river away from us. It was as if I was seeing a celebrity. I had goosebumps and knew that by the time I got my phone out for a photo I would have missed the entire amazing sight. I enjoyed the moment, and embedded it into my memory. I was not about to let that happen this time. I was going to be ready.

The branches swayed and the bird made its presence known to what I assume was the mother guarding the nest and or possible babies. They appeared to be arguing, go figure. It was too high up and too well concealed for me to know for sure. But that's my story and I am totally sticking to it. I narrated the video I was taking, telling the viewer just that. I saw the wing span again and my heart lept because I was sure this was a magnificent bird and I was going to get it all on camera. I didn't need to get ready for work for another hour. Take your time Mr. Bird because I have time.

And then, as if kicked out of the nest because he didn't bring back enough food, he flew out of the branches and landed on some grass just beneath his home. I was astonished that it was simply a very large black crow. He found a discarded french fry and ate it. He was the biggest crow I had ever seen and I found myself afraid he would come towards me. I slowly grabbed my trash and empty coffee cup and started to make my way for the well marked trash cans, one for recycling, one for garbage. He had zero interest in me, and began to walk the other way. Almost as if he too, was going to take a walk around town in search of food. He knew the area better than I did I am sure, and knew exactly where to go.

Nature

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eileen PatriceWritten by Eileen Patrice

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.