Earth logo

How To Save Money And Improve Your Health By Growing A Variety Of Food

In The Cambodian Jungle

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like
Known locally as Maca-Prei in Cambodia (Tastes like a grapefruit) (Photo by Author)

I have always loved nature and wanted to live a simple and sustainable life. That's why I decided to move to Mondulkiri Province, the largest and most sparsely populated province in Cambodia, where I could grow my own food in the heart of the jungle.

Mondulkiri is a beautiful place with rolling hills, rich biodiversity and waterfalls. It is home to many indigenous people, called the Bunong, who have preserved their traditional culture and way of life. They have taught me a lot about how to grow food in harmony with nature, using organic methods and respecting the forest.

I live in a quaint home on the outskirts of Sen Monorom, the capital of Mondulkiri Province. I have solar panels that provide me with enough electricity for my family's basic needs and I also have a rainwater harvesting system that collects water for drinking and irrigation. I don't have to pay any bills or rent, and I enjoy the freedom and peace of living off-grid.

My main farm is a little over one hectare in size, and I grow a variety of food such as coconuts, avocados, oranges, pomelos, limes, hibiscus, corn, potatoes, tomatoes, a variety of peppers, carrots, broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower, mangoes, bananas, papayas, and numerous other herbs, in addition to select Cambodian vegetables and fruits. I also have some chickens and ducks that provide me with eggs and meat.

I use agroforestry techniques to grow food in the jungle. This means that I plant crops and trees together in a way that mimics the natural ecosystem. The trees provide shade, nutrients, and protection for the crops, while the crops help to control weeds and pests. The whole system is more resilient and productive than monoculture farming, meaning if one crop goes down, we do not worry because of the countless others. We grow in our own unique way to provide us what we want and sell the rest or trade with neighbors.

Growing food in the jungle has many benefits for my health and well-being. I eat fresh and organic food every day, which boosts my immune system and prevents diseases. I also exercise regularly by working on the farm, which keeps me fit and strong. I breathe clean air and enjoy the beauty of nature, which reduces my stress and improves my mood.

Growing food in the jungle also helps me to save money and contribute to the environment. I don't have to buy food from the market or supermarket, which saves me a lot of money and time. I also avoid using chemical fertilizers and pesticides, which saves me more money and protects the soil and water quality. By growing food in the jungle, I help to conserve the forest and its wildlife, which are threatened by deforestation and climate change.

I am very happy with my choice of living in Mondulkiri and growing food in the jungle. It is not easy, but it is rewarding and fulfilling. I have learned a lot from nature and from the local people. I have also shared my knowledge and experience with others who are interested in this lifestyle. I believe that growing food in the jungle is one of the best ways to save money and improve your health in Cambodia.

Life can be so simple, yet many people choose to make it complicated for meaningless things. They chase after money, fame, power, and material possessions, thinking that they will make them happy. They work long hours, endure stress and pressure, and neglect their health and relationships. They consume more than they need, waste more than they produce, and pollute more than they clean. They forget the true meaning and purpose of life, which is to enjoy the present moment and appreciate the gifts of nature.

I used to be one of those people, but I realized that I was not happy or fulfilled. I decided to change my life and follow my passion for nature. I relocated part of my time and resources to Mondulkiri and started growing food in the jungle. It was the best decision I ever made. I have found peace and happiness in this simple and sustainable lifestyle. I have everything I need and nothing I don't. I have learned to value quality over quantity and contentment over greed.

I don't judge or criticize those who live differently from me, but I wish they could see the beauty and joy of living in harmony with nature. I wish they could experience the benefits of growing food in the jungle, not only for their own health and well-being, but also for the planet and its future generations. I wish they could understand that life can be so simple, and that simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.