Earth logo

How Gardening In Cambodia Changed My Life

A Personal Story

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like
The Hustle Of Selling (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

I have always loved gardening. Ever since I was a kid, I enjoyed planting seeds, watering them, and watching them grow into beautiful flowers or delicious vegetables. Gardening was my hobby, my passion, and my therapy.

But when I moved (at least a portion of each year) to Cambodia several years ago, I had to leave behind my small garden in Las Vegas and everything I knew. I came here hoping to make a difference in the lives of the children in this developing country. I discovered, through the help of locals, a remote village in Mondulkiri Province, the largest and most sparsely populated province in Cambodia.

Mondulkiri is a stunning place, with thickly forested mountains, powerful waterfalls, and lush green rolling hills. It is also home to the Bunong people, an indigenous ethnic group that lives mostly in the jungle and practices animism. They are very friendly and hospitable, but they have a very different way of life from mine.

One of the biggest differences is their diet. The Bunong people mainly eat rice, fish, and some wild plants that they collect from the forest. They rarely grow any vegetables or fruits, because they don't have much land or water for irrigation. They also don't have much access to markets or shops, so they can't buy fresh produce either.

I was shocked by the lack of variety and nutrition in their food. I missed my garden and the taste of homegrown tomatoes, lettuce, carrots, and herbs. I also worried about the health of the children and the adults, who often suffered from malnutrition and diseases.

That's when I decided to start a gardening project in the village. I wanted to share my love of gardening with the Bunong people and teach them how to grow vegetables and fruits, different from their own. I also wanted to improve their food security and income by selling the surplus produce at the local market.

Fortunately, I had a lot of flexibility in my various work endeavors as an educational consultant, international financial advisor, and school director. I could manage my time and travel according to my own schedule. This allowed me to spend more time in the village and focus on my gardening project.

I started by clearing a small plot of land near my house and digging a well for water. I bought some seeds from all around the world and tools from the nearest town and planted them in rows. I also built a fence around the garden to protect it from animals.

At first, the Bunong people were surprised to see a foreigner out toiling in the fields. They didn't understand what I was doing or why I was doing it. They were curious about the strange plants that I was growing, such as the unique styles of tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, herbs, and select fruits. They had never seen or tasted them before. But as time went by, they became more interested and involved in my project. They came to visit me often and asked me questions about gardening. They helped me with watering, weeding, harvesting, and composting. They also brought me some of their own seeds and plants, such as corn, beans, pumpkins, bananas, and papayas, which I continue to grow season after season to provide sustenance for my wife and I.

Soon enough, we had a beautiful and bountiful garden that provided us with fresh and healthy food every day. We ate some of it ourselves and shared some of it with our neighbors. We also sold some of it at the market and earned some extra money. The gardening project changed not only our diet but also our relationship. We became closer friends and learned from each other's culture and knowledge. We celebrated our harvests together and exchanged recipes and stories. We also faced some challenges together, such as: pests, diseases, droughts, and floods.

Gardening in Cambodia changed my life in many ways. It gave me a sense of purpose and joy. It taught me new skills and insights. It connected me with nature and people. It made me appreciate the simple things in life. It also changed the lives of the Bunong people. Our efforts improved their nutrition and health. It increased their food security and income, enhanced their self-reliance and confidence, and enriched their diversity and creativity. Gardening in Cambodia was more than just a hobby or a project. It was a journey of discovery and transformation for both me and the Bunong people.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.