Earth logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

"HOMELESSNESS IN AMERICA"

"LIVING ONE DAY AT A TIME"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 14 days ago Updated 9 days ago 8 min read
"THE DISCRDED" PRODUCED BY VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

Homelessness In America

Living One Day at a Time

I begin the story with a video I produced 15 years ago in Austin, Texas. "THE DISCARDED" was a project that I worked on about homeless veterans in South Austin, Texas. Excuse the typo in the title under the video description. The correct spelling is "The Discarded".

Thanks for reading and watching the videos and this very important commentary on homelessnes in America.

This story is accompanied by music and documentaries. I have included one that I produced 15 years ago in Austin, Texas. We should all be concerned about the homeless population, ethnic cleansing, and wealth discrimination. I have simplified a complex situation that requires people who care about the future to find their niche in our society in 2024 to help the homeless situation in America. It's not all about LA or CALIFORNIA. ITS ABOUT AMERICA AS A DEMOCRACY slowly slipping into a dictatorship of authoritarian genocide. Listen to the music and the videos that explain the situation through feelings and words by different musicians, journalists, and other public figures.

"Save The American Dream" Produced by Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I filmed this 13 years ago on the Capital grounds in Austin, Texas. I had not planned to film, but I filmed with my cell phone and tiny camera in my purse. This was 13 years ago but holds even more true in 2024.

I have studied the homeless population for decades as I think that there should not be any homeless people in America. There are so many reasons one can become homeless. These days millions of humans live paycheck to paycheck. Millions of people are one paycheck away from being homeless. The excessive cost of renting an apartment is brought on by wealthy people and realtors. I hear about how they create rents by managing their price increases calling it ‘MARKET VALUE.'

The ones who do not want to be around the homeless are living out of fear that they could be that couple with four children living out of their car. So, the eyesore they call homeless is their fear of the predicament that it could be them.

Once upon a time in the 1970s I had a male visitor to my apartment. This was a platonic relationship. I was driving him around the freeways. He was trying to strike up a conversation with me about apartment dwellers. Then he moved onto talking about the riff raff people and how they should be forced out of certain areas. This was his viewpoint about gentrification in the 1970s. Then he asked if me I was riff raff because I was driving and could not answer his questions as a woman intellect future journalist. He called me an inept riff raff. I stopped on the side of the freeway. I told him to get out of the car! He spoke. “What?” I said, “Get the fuck out of my car! Find another way back to my apartment. When you get there just pack your bags, call a taxi to the airport because he was a riff raff male with a tiny brain.”

He left to go back to Las Vegas that day! I never saw him again!

Now we are constantly bombarded with high rent and wealthy apartment owners who raise rents to keep what they consider ‘riff raff’ out. One must have a certain credit score to rent an apartment. If one does not have at least seven points, then they might as well live on the street.

America has become a hotbed of greedy wealthy owners of homes turned into hostiles. The hostiles rent to eight or more people a month. The owners supply bunkbeds for people to sleep on, charging from $400 to $500 a bunkbed. They have bought up numerous amounts' homes across America.

What proof do I have? I had a personal experience of almost living in one in Hollywood several years ago. It was close to the Metro, but I could not foresee me living with eight strange women. So, I stayed in the location that I was living in at that moment.

It's not all about me. This is a growing international problem. People have been forced to be refugees through wars and by dictatorships, and ethnic cleansing. So, what do we call gentrification? I call it ethnical cleansing of what that one-time visitor called it, ‘riff raff’ exchange for low-income renters to the streets and the high-income renters in their apartments.

So, if a wealthy individual looks down on anyone that is below a certain income, then where does that leave most lower income folks? It leaves them without a roof over their head. Most homeless people are low income with no 'way' of affording to pay rents above $1,000. In LA a one room apartment can cost from $1400 to $2500. The greedy do not care. They lack empathy for anyone that is what they call ‘who are beneath them.’

"'time keeps on slipping into the future' Steve Miller Band - Fly Like An Eagle"

Not all wealthy folks fit this persona, but most greedy wealthy folks do fit the category of rich narcissistic real estate owners.

Veterans and old folks make up much of the homeless population in cities across America. People talk about, “Oh but you will find them pricey.” If I hear the word gentrification, riff raff, or pricey again I will scream!

There are statistics that prove my opinion of what group of people fit the mold of our homeless population in America. I am sure that the inclusion of, “They are there because of drugs,” makes some judgmental people feel comfortable, but it is a perception of their own brain and not the truth.

Now we are in a dilemma in America of living on the precipice of losing our democracy in November 2024. We could all wake up in January 2025 to a major shift in our lifestyles and culture. This is a planned takeover by the wealthy and White Christian Nationalist of America. If this happens, we will all become the hunted and the ‘riff raff of the theocracy dictatorship. We will be the bigots’ tools for slavery and to throw away certain folks. The mass populations will be forced to have babies as they will make it illegal to practice birth control. The babies being born will be slaves of the bigots and wealthy. There will be martial law and certain populations of people will be targeted and murdered by the regime of heatherns' that will occupy the White House. This is not an exaggeration or was it pulled out of the magician’s hat of fantasy.

This is a psychic forewarning of what could happen if we do not quit bowing to right wing propaganda from Russia and other tyrant countries.

So, you ask me, “Okay then how do I go from talking about the homeless population in 2024 to becoming a dictatorship of tyrants?”

The scenarios of ethnic cleansing are prolific in a coup dictatorship takeover of any country. We will all be subjects of exploitation of death and slavery if we do not wake up. Then the powerful will dictate our religion, our bedrooms, and our lifestyles. The powers that have a plan to use ethnic cleansing in America.

I thought this could never happen in America. It is happening by people wrapping themselves in an American flag carrying Bibles telling the people to worship the golden calf and if they do not have the lifestyle of their peers then death will come to many populations that the dictators do not like.

The feeling of being homeless is a horrifying experience. One can feel left out, depressed, and frightened of what will happen next. I pray to the universe that America returns to its practical senses. We need to force the wealthy White Christian Nationalists out of power. The male patriarchal society of insecure men need to go on a rocket into the deepest black hole in the sky.

I want to see the vacant properties across America renovated into housing for the poor and low income to live in. I am not sure this will happen due to the fact we are under the thumbs of the super wealthy who guard their money in banks, the offshore banks, and other 'no tax' zones for the wealthy.

"From Tax Optimization to Offshore Accounts: Inside the Wealthy's Playbook" by Thrive Tribe

I have written about this before due to this is an election year and I love democracy.

This is not a broken vinyl but a forewarning that I see for our future as a melting pot of cultures and nationalities of millions of folks just living their lives one day at a time.

"Nickelback - Feed The Machine [Lyric Video]"

When one begins to measure another human being’s worth by the money they have in the bank. If one measures another human being’s worth by the amount of money they have in old age to tell the older person, “You have no money, so your life means nothing, and you did not do anything. If you worked more, you would have money. So, you are nothing.”

That is a devastating scenario to live in, but I was once told by a particular person that very same impression they had about who I am as a human being without wealth.

My Grandma Carrie Soleta told me that wealth is not all about money. One can be wealthy in spirit not just the ‘green back.'

"TURN! TURN! TURN! (Lyrics) - THE BYRDS"

Let us all think about the future we prefer in America. I choose to house the homeless, not worship the golden calf, and learn empathy towards human being counter parts of living day by day, one day at a time. We are all one human being species with many nationalities, religions, cultures, ethnicities, skin pigmentations and all live across this beautiful planet we call Earth.

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

AGE 74

JUNE 8, 2024

The light shines forth

To obscure the darkness of deep darkness.

Of course,

We must shine our light.

We must shed the hate of others

To go to the light

Shining forth

As we walk day by day

In the way

Of the matrix

Of our realities

To fix

What we can

What we should fix

To our abilities

We must be warriors of good

To show we are the strong ones of Earth

The weak are the judgmental fools

Of wealth of pomp and circumstances

Of birth

Of life of death.

PEACE OUT!

"One More Light [Official Music Video] - Linkin Park"

AdvocacySustainabilityshort storyHumanityClimate

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake14 days ago

    Amazing work.

Vicki Lawana Trusselli Written by Vicki Lawana Trusselli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.