Earth logo

Home is Where the Heart is

What if you never left your house again?

By Ben ShelleyPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
Home is Where the Heart is
Photo by vu anh on Unsplash

What if you never left your house again?

This thought crossed my mind as I walked up and down the stairs of my rental property yesterday (two steps) to get my daily steps up. I did not leave the house and had no intention of until absolutely necessary.

I was busy with work and whilst a part of me was contemplating going for a run, I focused on work in order to get ahead of the rate required. This is in reference to when a cricket team is chasing a total that continually goes up until one player goes for the win and hits a few sixes.

  • I have been behind for a while now and I do not enjoy the feeling. I am someone who thrives on being organised
  • I hate being late to anything as I believe it is rude, yet many turn up late and continue to do so for years, with little to no regard for others.

I can't think this way. I was always taught to think of others first and whilst this can be stressful when it comes to mental health as I never place myself first, I find it beneficial in the long run.

I always put those around me in the pole position and can forget about my needs, which are still incredibly important. If you can't love yourself then who will love you?

With this in mind, I spent the vast majority of the day inside. Away from sunshine and whilst the doctors tell me I am low in vitamin D, I was happy.

There was less noise and I could concentrate, truly concentrate on what I needed to be done...so this got me thinking...what if I chose to never left the house again?

  • I could easily become a recluse in life. I could still speak to my friends via virtual calls and the old-fashioned phone call
  • I could still remain in their lives very easily and that is something to celebrate technology for
  • To be able to stay connected like we did during the global pandemic should be celebrated as that would not have been possible fifty years previous

We would have been required to look to the newspapers and hope. We would not have been able to speak to our lined ones, apart from wiring letters, which would have taken time. You would not have been able to receive a reply straight away.

Nowadays you can stay in touch with people in multiple ways, which is great and annoying as there are those who you would prefer if you could simply erase them.

Remove them from your life in order to make a fresh start but we tend to cling to the past as humans. We hold close that which should have been lost years before and so that is a downside of technology, but you could continue to live during the pandemic.

The pandemic once again proved that human beings do not need to be in the same room in order to be proficient. We can work from home as the internet is fast enough that we can receive instant responses to our queries.

The world is but a click away from success and that is amazing. Much as there are accusations that the internet is creating a deficit society where children will be unable to communicate unless via virtual means but that is not the majority.

In this context, I have established that I could continue to maintain my friendships as they could head over, and contact me virtually. I simply would not be looking to go out and meet them anymore.

That would be a little selfish but really, those that stayed around would be your friends for life and would accept you for who you are and others would judge, as they typically do.

The human race is one big conversation of judgement and this is evident in every part of society. You will never please everybody and simply need to worry about yourself and those who make a positive difference in your day.

You could order food in and as I did, walk up and down the house to easily provide yourself with enough exercise to get through the day.

Your food can be quickly and easily ordered to you (as our neighbour upstairs proves with his daily takeaways) and all you would need to worry about is missing vitamins but if you made sure you had a private garden then this would not be a problem.

With so of this in mind plus the fact that I would have the internet, multiple electronic devices and a library of books and games to choose from, it would occupy me for a lifetime.

The only real consideration that I would miss out on would be travel, to see more of the world and experience more of the cultures on this earth. This is a pretty big loss as I do love to travel.

The beauty of the world would be hard to replicate. You could see it through the internet but that's not how this planet works. It works through Murphy's Law.

Whatever can happen, will happen and most likely this will be due to airways offering us challenge and intrigue in our lives and that is great but it doesn't necessarily mean that we need to leave the house to experience it.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.