Earth logo

Early Shore Mornings

The Calm of the Beach soothes me...

By Emily SchatzPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
8
Early Shore Mornings
Photo by Richard Pasquarella on Unsplash

As I step out of the wind tunnel and into the coarse sand with my bare feet, I immediately feel the sun start to warm my shoulders and face. The beach has looked different, ever since Hurricane Sandy. What used to be a view directly to the ocean has changed to a seemingly endless sand dune. The massive dune has a clear path in the center to reach the beach, but the rest is covered in dune grass. The grass is about a foot high, and a pale green shade. It changes direction and shape as a light breeze sweeps through it.

As I walk through the path, the sand grows hotter, but my feet are used to the heat after spending months growing the callouses needed for a barefoot summer. Seagulls are hurrying out of my way and the ocean grows louder the closer I get. It is low tide, so the waves are smaller, and a sand bar is peeking to the surface of the water. The water is a dark blue, with spots of green further out. It is morning, so the sun is still close to the horizon. There is almost no one on the beach, just a couple to my left.

Once I am past the sand dune, the sand feels cooler and moist, as it was recently touched by the salty water. Small shells and pebbles are washed up with the push of every wave, and the clams that were moved hurry to dig back into the sand where they feel safe. The only other wildlife I see is the seagulls, who are not very active so early in the morning. They stand close to the ocean, and quickly walk away when the cool water gets too close for comfort. Their bright yellow beaks seem too big for their slender bodies, it’s almost comical.

As I continue to walk to the ocean, I notice small pieces of sea glass. There aren’t many, but it becomes easier to find them the closer I look. Most pieces are no bigger than a dime, and are a dark brown. There’s one or two green pieces, as well. I wasn’t lucky enough to find a blue piece today. I pick up the sea glass and wash off the grayish sand stuck to it in the ocean water. The water is cool against my skin and feels refreshing.

When I look up to the sky, I only see a few clouds. They are a bright white and look soft and fluffy. The rest of the sky is a bright blue that seems unreal, while the horizon is still orange and pink, not yet ready to turn blue. As the water continues to hit my feet and legs small pieces of seaweed are pulled in and out by the current. The air smells salty, but not fishy. It smells like all the past summers have smelled.

As I walk and finally reach the sand bar, I look down and see tiny bubbles burst through the wet sand. I dig my hand by the air pockets and scoop up a handful of sand. In my hand are about 3 or 4 sand crabs, desperately trying to crawl back to protection. They are tiny, beige, and completely harmless. I release them back into the water, and they don’t waste time scurrying back to safety within the sand.

Today is the 4th of July, my favorite holiday. The people aren’t crowding the beach and the grills aren’t fired up yet. The people and the fireworks will arrive soon, but for now the beach is home to almost no one. This will be the first 4th of July since Hurricane Sandy. However, the beach is just as beautiful as it was before the storm, and it still feels like home.

Nature
8

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.