Earth logo

Despondent

Dear Humankind,

By BrynnDyn Walking ElkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Despondent
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

There is only a few of you left, you are beaten down and exhausted from watching your homes go up into flames and your loved ones murdered right in front of you. I didn’t mean to do this but you made me unfortunately. As my waves crash all over the land and swallow everything in its path, all you can hear is the screaming of those left around you but you can’t get away from me. You don’t have any where else to go anymore. My body starts to shake and crack. So everything falls, everything you’ve ever known into the deepest levels of hell. I can’t help it, you made me do this. You have left me no other choice. You set off the weapon and it ruined me. Demolishing every beautiful thing I created. You disintegrated your own kind just for greed, and power. You can never turn back now. I can’t help but be disappointed in you. You caused enough damage already, can’t you see that I’m dying?

All around me now are scattered bodies and scattered remains of what used to be something beautiful. Those left running in fear of no hope, no peace, and no future. What am I suppose to do? I can’t rewind time. Damage is done and I’m left watching you all die in so many ways, I feel your pain. What used to be yours is on the ground in ash, and what could of been yours is no longer plausible. This saddens me, because as I started to die I sent you a cry for help, why didn’t you help me? I have had enough, I can only hear one more heartbeat and it is slowly fading. I can hear his thoughts, I can feel his pain but I can’t save him... I know he woke up today with hope but now there is nothing left. It’s just him and he can’t help but let go because he knows it’s too late. There is no more time.. I’m sorry.

I’m sorry. I started melting, rising and becoming warmer, my air wasn’t aseptic anymore and I know you couldn’t breathe... grabbing at your throat as your little baby you both prayed for lay blue next to you and your wife downstairs laying cold and still, in her hand was the heart shaped locket you gave her years ago. I saw her call for you, I saw her reach for you, she was scared. I’m so sorry. I watched your face turn red as you allow yourself to give in to the pain and suffering because you couldn’t fight anymore and within that same moment I saw in your eyes the regret and the sorrow. I’m sorry. I warned you and I couldn’t save you. I couldn’t bring each breathe back. I’m sorry. I told you to stop because you were hurting me yet nobody seemed to be listening. Please forgive me because with all the misery I carried year after year it was inevitable. This is what’s best for you. How does it feel to watch the ones you hold close in your heart die because of yourselves. All around you they lay, breathless, some to ash. There is nothing left, nobody is ok, all you can see is ash falling and you can feel the rain burn you touch by touch. You forced me to get angry, to erupt, engulf and start to burn and just like that... they were dead, burned and buried with nobody around to remember when the sky used to glow and the water used to flow, and all the smiles wherever you’d go, missing the process of florescence.

No humans, no chaos.

Climate

About the Creator

BrynnDyn Walking Elk

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BrynnDyn Walking ElkWritten by BrynnDyn Walking Elk

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.