Earth logo

Chestnut Ridge Farm/Scottish Highlanders/Lab's & Littlepop's Popcorn!!

A Farmer's Journey

By Bruce Luginbuhl Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - April 2024
17
Scottish Highlanders

Willow & Buhler

The Chestnut Story

The view from my back deck
Chestnut flowering
Chestnut Harvest

Well to begin my story, we’ll have to go back to 1999 when I planted a chestnut orchard in the northeast section of my town in Ellington, Connecticut. I had come up with the idea from earlier memories of my father working with some trees in our backyard in the late 60’s. I found out land was available and I was planning on building a house as well. I cleared around 8 acres and planted approximately 800 trees! The planting went well and the trees were looking beautiful. Unfortunately, when the following spring came, because of the combination of too much water in the soil and the variety of chestnut trees I had planted, almost all but a few didn’t make it. I didn’t give up and I cleared some more land that was on higher ground and today almost 25 years later, at the time of this writing, I have approximately 150 trees. Not all are producing because some are still too young. In 2022 I had a record crop and I sold about 1,400 lbs. into the market. Last year, 2023, I didn’t do as well they only produced about half as much as in 2022. That’s farming!

Scottish Highland Cattle

Winona, Buhler & Tucker
Winona & Chessie
Feeding time

I then decided to fence off the 8 acres and buy some cattle. I decided to go with the Scottish Highlander breed. The Highlander breed from Scotland are very friendly and safe to work with because they are very docile. I currently have a bull heifer and I just sold my 5-month-old bull calf, Tucker because I didn't want 2 bulls. I’ve had several more cattle and decided to sell them because hay is too expensive and I had to buy quite a bit for the winter months.

My Hiking Buddies Brookie & Minnow

Minnow & Brookie

My son David picked up a black labrador. I wasn’t too keen on having a dog but my daughter Ashley worked on me and I allowed the puppy into our home. We named her Brooke but I always called her Brookie. It wasn’t too long after I decided to breed her and she had a litter of eight puppies! I then decided to keep one of her puppies and named her Minnow. My son David left to be on his own. He’s doing well and has three boys. My daughter, Ashley, has three children; two girls and a boy. My wife and I have much to be thankful for!!

LittlePops Popcorn

Field of Littlepops in CT
Bruce & Daughter Ashley

Early American Popcorn

"The beginning of the Littlepops story"

It all started in 1985 early on before I was married, I was visiting one of our churches in Oakville, Iowa. I was invited to a singing at someone's home. That evening they served this delicious smaller kernel popcorn. It was an heirloom early American variety. It was maybe a year or two later when I was married I remembered how much I liked that popcorn so I called the people out in Iowa and was able to find the source. I then ordered some for the next 15 years because we enjoyed it so much.

During those 15 years I started a business and sold it to my younger brother because of an injury i had.

At that point in time I wasn't sure what I was going to do, and came up with an idea maybe I can try and market some of this variety of popcorn up here in the Northeast. I then came up with the name Littlepop’s because of it's smaller kernels". I then ordered a large amount and was successful getting some accounts in my Northeast area. It was a year or two later when I decided to grow it myself and I found a slightly different popcorn, still small, but white instead of the original yellow. This new variety I've been told dates back to the early 1900's from Wisconsin. I found a farmer with a combine and a planter that helped me grow and harvest my popcorn!! I then worked out an agreement with a farmer and put up a 100 ton grain bin to dry the popcorn down to 13/14% and then bring it to Pennsylvania to get cleaned and put into 50 lb bags. I then had the capacity to sell to a much larger market. One of my biggest customers was Big Y Supermarkets, and Whole Foods Northeast and North Atlantic region's. They were both excellent to work with and very good to me. They purchased a lot over the years. I also sold to local grocery stores in my area, and now because of the higher cost's I've scaled down and mostly selling on my website. www.littlepops.com

Thanks for reading about a small chapter of a journey that we all have to tell!

Bruce & Karen

Nature
17

About the Creator

Bruce Luginbuhl

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Bruce Luginbuhl (Author)9 days ago

    Thank you very much 👍

  • Anna 9 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Nice story. Thanks

  • Flamance @ lit12 days ago

    Great story

  • Godrich Mboungou12 days ago

    Nice work 👍🏼

  • D. D. Lee13 days ago

    Congratulations to the both of you on all your success thus far. I wish more for you in the future. I enjoyed your piece. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    This story ties to so many moments in my life. My father's parents were farmers, including corn. I love trees! And, for what it's worth, I studied in England which translates to a ridiculously entrenched love of highland cows. So many of the points you made bring me flashes of memories -- thank you! Loved your story and the pics and videos. Wish you luck with all of your endeavors. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Thanks!!

  • Thanks very much Hannah really appreciate it!!

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    Awe, love a highland cow. Hope the popcorn does well for you.

  • I enjoyed very well

  • Carol Townend13 days ago

    I loved reading this incredible story. It sounds like you love your farming life, and your animals are beautiful. I would have loved your fascinating life and can't wait to hear more from you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.