Earth logo

BEAUTIFUL OLD LOG BARN

Down an Old Dirt Road

By Varina YazellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Rollin down an old dirt road, holding Jaxxon's hand, singing along to our country playlist, we came upon a log barn.

Mother nature was re-claiming this beauty with winter creeper as it was leaning to the right.

Jaxxon put his Ford truck in park, opened his door and hopped out. he smiled at me as he walked so handsomely in his ripped jeans and t-shirt through the headlights. After he opened my door, taking my hand as I hopped out to join him, we walked toward that beautiful barn.

For a second the moonlight disappeared as we walked through the doorway. Opening up to there being no roof. the moonbeams shining down was so gorgeous it made my jaw drop.

Jaxxon softly kissed me on the cheek and said, "Be right back my lady."

Meer seconds later the truck lights were off and the radio was cranked up. Jaxxon took both my hands in his, looked into my brown eyes and smiled as his sky blue eyes glowed with joy. He spun me around as my purple sundress swirled around, falling against my thighs as he dipped me low to the ground.

Sitting on one of the beams, an owl hooted as if in approval. As Jaxxon pulled me back up, I laid my head on his chest, closing my eyes and focused on his heart beat as he helm me tight, running his hands through my nearly waist length, grey kissed brown hair.

Rain started to fall through the beautiful roofless barn, picking up speed and running down our bodies as I pressed my lips to his.

It was now my turn to walk back to the truck. I had to grab my Nikon to capture some of these moments before that beautiful old barn was gone.

Jaxxon was sitting on an old stump behind the barn with his head leaned back. Raindrops fell from huge oak tree onto his face, rolling down his cheek as the corner of his mouth curled up in delight. He was so far into the moment that he didn't even notice me snapping photos. He has no idea how truly handsome he is. How his ripped jeans and t-shirt always turns my head. How I could get lost in those blue eyes forever.

Suddenly, Jaxxon jumped to his feet and like a monkey he was climbing up the side of the barn.

"Be careful! I don't want ya to get hurt handsome. It's been raining and the beams are gonna be slick."

"Don't worry my lady. I've got this."

Running back inside the barn, my dress snagged got snagged as I was about to make it to the door, ripping a little piece from it.

The moonbeams shining from above I could see Jaxxon sitting straddle of the top beam. The rain had stopped falling and I snapped several photos with the night setting. With the moonbeams peaking between the oak leaves, the photos made Jaxxon look like the angel that I feel like he is.

Smiling at each other, he climbed back down the side of the barn to join me inside. He laid on the ground with his left arm behind his head. I sat beside him gently laying my head back onto his chest as he stook his right hand to play with my hair.

Looking up through the roofless barn, the oak leaves glistened with raindrops and the sky filled with billions of stars.

Crickets', tree frogs' ,whippoorwills' and owls' sang with joy as we lay there. Just that old beautiful barn, nature, Jaxxon and me.

The peace of nature put us both into a restful sleep and we woke the next morning to the sound of birds chirping and the sun warming through the oak leaves and roofless barn.

Sadly, as Jaxxon put the Ford in reverse, the old barn fell to the ground. We both wiped tears from our cheeks as we watched that beautiful old barn being reclaimed by nature.

"Thank you beautiful old barn for the wonderful memories," we said in unison.

Nature

About the Creator

Varina Yazell

Writing and photography are my biggest passions. Enjoy every moment of life...you never know when your time on earth will be over

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Varina YazellWritten by Varina Yazell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.