Earth logo

Ancient Afrofuturism

Antecedent Resurrection

By ZēnithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Ancient Afro-Futurism

What do you get when you combine boundless imagination with the ever-present innovative culture of the descendants of the first curators of human civilization? Words alone can not dare to begin to describe the divinely endowed sensations emitted at the sight of Western Societies lowest caste people embracing the alienation of their being as a vessel for cosmically liberated expression.

Fashion alone is arguably the single most telling sign of what an individual holds to be true. Here in the U.S.A., we are fortunate enough to exist within a system that allows us the freedom to wear virtually whatever with no fear of repercussion. Yet still there exists a very much homogenous, uniform-like attire in relation to the infinite possibilities of material arrangement we have at our disposal. AfroFuturism completely rids my mind of any limitations that tend to accompany even the most controversial fashion trends. Afrofuturism, in its essence, provides me with a sense of belonging. As a queer individual, I have learned to make peace with existing outside of the societal norm. Free from subconsciously carrying the weight of being accepted, received or understood by the masses. My predestined predicament carved out space for me to explore this realm of existence in my own energy, untainted by external opinions and limitations. Afrofuturism has empowered me to own all aspects of my being. I now view my differences as something I should cherish instead of something that I should dread. AfroFuturism deserves a return in this day and age especially. Due to the bizarre beauty standards of our modern digital age more and more people view themselves as less than because appreciation from the public on social media isn’t that friendly to individuals who steer down unpaved avenues of self-realization. Modern society tends to prefer mass-produced mainstream brands, ideals, and personality types or authentique raw individual perspectives. AfroFuturism not only encourages individuality, it celebrates it! The flamboyant auras exerted from the one-of-a-kind outfits derived from AfroFuturism breathe a light breath of release down the spine of insecurity. Confronting naysayers with the power of self-validation. The power of living out one's truth openly, proudly, and unapologetically.

When the world turns its back on you, turn your back on the world.

Before internalizing the underlying force of the Afrofuturism movement I would enter rooms with my gaze veered towards the feet of those whom I used to seek approval from. As if I was asking for permission to be allowed to be in their presence.

The future begins in the present. Now I step into rooms with my head up to the cosmos, radiating starbeams as far the eye can see. I now step into every space with 100% assurance that I deserve to be there. I am worthy of my time in the sun.

AfroFuturism continues to be relevant as it always reminds us of how necessary it is for us to hold fast to our dreams of a brighter tomorrow. In a world where people lose their livelihoods due to their “bold” choice to wear their hair in designs that have existed in their bloodline for countless generations, AfroFuturism makes sure we never forget who we are as a people. Human people. Though we may come in a plethora of different shapes, sizes and configurations, beyond the veil lies a soul. Beyond the skin, hair and outfit lies an energy we are all connected to.

AfroFuturism is timeless, both the future and the past. Reminding all of us of the deep-rooted culture we hail from while continuously piercing forward into the unknown dimensions of exploration.

Humanity

About the Creator

Zēnith

I am a vessel for the cosmic energy in the universe. Traversing through this realm of existence openly and freely. Taking the time to smell the flowers as I wander through the garden of life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ZēnithWritten by Zēnith

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.