Earth logo

A Dance with Grandfather Owl

True Story

By Kei.LightPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Art of Flamenco

Flamenco for me is like coming upfor fresh air. I love the concentration levels it requires, it has the capacity to create a portal into the unknown.Its the levels of surrender, the sounds of the nails stumping with el cajon take you into a sort of trance. Its the guitar, it strombs at your heart and you flow...you flow into a space where you are infinite.

I started studying the art of flamenco 3 years ago and its the one art that kept me sane and out of a mental institution, during one of the most challenging moments of my life. I am certain that its medicine sows some new pretty eyes into the pictures of life.

The sisters. You get close and personal during synchronization of energy flow as you dance and share sacred space; you make incompareable bonds required to the getting lost in this world of passion and innovation, that is Flamenco. The photoshoots and the accessories and learning a new item, or genre, its an adrenaline rush, a joyful creation space. You just never know what a flamenca may throw at you.

I like to go deep into the woods to practice, so I bring a wheelbarrow with: 4 to 5 wooden tablas and a large spanish-framed mirror, the shoes, the skirt, and whatever accesorie I practice that day.

The morning I danced with grandfather owl was a hot one; and so I decided to go deeper into the woods and practice in a shaded area. After about an hour of me warming up and practicing I turned to see grandfather owl starring firmly into my being, with its deep nocturnal eyes. He attempted to interpret the inceaseable stumps echoing through the woods of Johnson Manor in Winter Springs Florida.

I had spent the first part of New Years Day practicing Flamenco out in the land. I started with a set from the tablas: Punta con tres tacones, punta con tres tacones and so on.....

After approximately 1.5 hrs of practice, grandfather owl flew in and stood on a branch about 4 feet above my head. His nocturnal black Eyes pierced into my being, observing my intentions carrying the wisdom of the universe in his essence. I did not hear him fly in as his silent flight skills are impressively rad! He had a white belly with barred gray/white wings and colors ran down his entire dorsal from head to tail.

I was startled by his presence that demanded to know what I was doing and also informing my interrupting his sleep. At that moment some fear creeped down my spine, I had no idea how he would react. So I apologized for my disturbing his sleep cycle and offered to show him what I was working on. Still unsure as to what would happen, I started with some arm work, and quick jiros ( turns) to see if he would fly away, but he did not. So then I did a quick set I remembered from llamadas por Alegrias class, he still looked at me with his wide eyes, and then ... he lifted his leg and scratched his head.

I chuckled and told him I was still learning, and so I showed him something else I had learned when he suddenly closed his eyes showing me his big snow white eyelids; he moved his white chin in a way that formed a perfectly graceful smile!

I had never seen an owl smile before but it sure is a treasure of wise light. He then centered himself into a rest... and stayed with me for the remaining 1.5 hrs I practiced that day. At one point I had looked up and grandfather owl had done a 270 degree turn of his head, as I worked on double and triple jiros LOL.

I loved dancing with grandfather owl and learned so much from him that day...looking forward with humble gratitude to keep dancing with the wizards in the future. I once read that dance enables us to loose ourselves and find ourselves again. Now this I have lived to be very true.

short story
Like

About the Creator

Kei.Light

I work in the Emergency Department for a managed care org in FL. I am creator of Relaxation Experience: clinical staff gathers to meditate and breathe mindfully. I love dancing, heartfelt writing and I once saved buttlerfly from drowning.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.