Critique logo

War & Peace

Challenge of Translating Leo Tolstoy's Intent

By Lana V LynxPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
6
Illustration by Andrei Nikolayev

The Russian word "mir" (peace) has another meaning - "world, society." While translating the novel's title as "War and Peace" is logical for juxtopposition, Tolstoy's main goal was to show how war affects the world. It is Natasha's love and life story in the context of war, peace, and society.

FictionThemeNovel
6

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    I will read it one day, it's on my grand list! I bet it's not the same in translation though. This is good motivation to read it. Beautiful! ;)

  • Ava Mack9 months ago

    One of my very favorite novels and books of all time! I love the rethinking of what Tolstoy meant to capture in the "Peace" portion of "War and Peace". And Natasha! <3

  • I've never read this book before. Excellent review! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.