Critique logo

Crime and Punishment

Dostoyevsky is a Russian curse

By Lana V LynxPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Illustration by Stanley Wyatt

Dostoyevsky dissects the Russian soul's darkest sides: desperation, violence, late remorse. Doom and gloom. Even Sonya, one tiny ray of light in complete darkness, gets punished for love.

Does the punishment really fit the crime? Or makes doom and gloom a self-fulfilling prophecy for Russians? Read Grin's Scarlet Sails instead.

ThemeNovelFiction
5

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Beth Sarah9 months ago

    I LOVED C&P when I read it. Entirely agree with everything you have included in this clever critique though

  • Oooo, this was so intriguing! I gotta check this out! Excellent review!

  • Christian Lee9 months ago

    Hey, Interesting writing. Doestoevsky, if one can endure his run-on writing style, is worth reading. I read a few of his works e.g., The Brothers Karamazov, Notes from Underground. As for your critique, I wish you wrote more. I thought you were going to elaborate.

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Lana - Ah, in my biz-life "Punishment never seems to 'Fit' the crime." I'd like to throw all the new bums-out and find realistic opinions pursuant to the habitual offenders rate; so sad to see unbridled hate. Sorry that's just me ranting. * Back from 'Recess' and to the apples on your desk. J-Bud Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Never really did Dostoyevsky, but you brought it to life. Will check out Scarlet Sails for sure.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.