Critique logo

Unmitigated Greed

Chapters 2-4

By Mark GagnonPublished 9 months ago 8 min read
4
Unmitigated Greed
Photo by Christine Roy on Unsplash

Chapter 2

Frank was angry, and having no one person to direct his anger at, he turned it loose on everyone. The summer before his senior year of high school was a mixture of fights and uncontrolled drinking in the cantinas of Nuevo Laredo, Mexico. It was during one such night that he overheard two men talking about back-alley prize fights. He was still sober enough to ask where the fights were being held and how he could enter.

At first, the men laughed, unable to take this half-drunk Gringo kid seriously. Frank pressed the issue until they relented and walked him to where the fights were being held. There was no ring set up, just three cinder-block walls, and an entryway crammed with spectators.

The alleyway smelled of piss, vomit, and garbage. Two shirtless men, bloodied and bruised, stood in the makeshift arena, pummeling each other into submission. Suddenly, the smaller of the men seized upon an opening and hammered his opponent with a crushing straight right hand. The larger man crashed onto the garbage-strewn pavement. A cheer went up as the victor stumbled forward to the opening.

The man in charge stepped forward, clapped the victor on the shoulder, and handed him a fist full of pesos. Someone unceremoniously dragged the defeated fighter from the alley and dumped him in the gutter.

“Who’s next?” shouted the promoter in Spanish. “Fifty additional pesos to any man with the courage to fight Gordo the Beast.” No one spoke at first, then from the back of the crowd came a voice.

“I’ll take your money, mister.”

The spectators opened a path, and Frank Mason walked through. Silence fell over the crowd as the brazen teenager strode toward the promoter. The man took one look at Frank and burst into laughter, and the crowd followed suit.

“Chaval, do your parents know you’re out this late?” asked the promoter in a condescending tone.

“I haven’t been a boy (Chaval) since both my parents died. I’ll tell you what, if I lose, I’ll give you $100, but if I win, you pay me in U.S. dollars, not pesos.”

The promoter hesitated for an instant, then called over his shoulder, “Gordo.”

A massive man emerged from the alleyway shadows. Frank was just shy of six feet, and this man stood a good eight inches taller. He weighed approximately 275 lbs., with biceps the size of Frank’s thighs.

The promoter turned toward Frank and said in a quiet voice, “Just give me $50 and I’ll explain that the fight can’t go on because you’re too young. This man will damage you for life—if you live, that is.”

Frank gave the promoter his best smile and replied, “Everyone is beatable. It’s just a matter of figuring out how. Let the show begin!”

Frank was no stranger to fighting. He had won countless matches in karate competitions. This fight was different. There were no rules, no referees, no time limits. He felt an unfamiliar surge of adrenalin. Was this the challenge he had been seeking since his parents died?

The two men circled each other, searching for the perfect opportunity to put down their opponent. Gordo struck first with a blow that Frank could barely deflect. The big man possessed incredible speed. They continued to circle, waiting for the right moment. That moment for Frank arrived with Gordo’s next attack. As fast as the big man was, Frank was faster. He ducked Gordo’s punch, throwing his opponent momentarily off balance. That was the advantage Frank was looking for. He pressed his fingers together, forming a spearhead, then thrust the hardened fingers deep into the man’s windpipe. Gordo fell to his knees, gasping for air.

Frank could have walked away victorious, but he didn’t. Instead, he allowed the rage that had been building in him from his first fight in middle school to his parents’ death to take control. He walked behind the gasping man and delivered a brutal kick to the base of Gordo’s skull.

The crowd was dead silent as Frank walked to the promoter with his hand outstretched for the prize money. The terrified man quickly counted out the cash in U.S. dollars and, with quivering fingers, gave it to Frank. He placed his winnings in his jeans pocket, walked back to his car, and drove home feeling no remorse. He didn’t notice the two men following him.

Chapter 3

One week after the fight, Frank started his senior year of high school. He felt calmer now and was looking forward to starting a new chapter in his life. Insurance money had paid off his house, and he had a monthly check from his dad’s job along with one from social security until he finished college. Laredo wasn’t an expensive place to live, so he managed.

Senior year was more of a formality for Frank. He had passed all the required classes needed to graduate with A’s. Now he was free to take courses that interested him. He became so well versed in both computer construction and programming, not even the teacher was more knowledgeable.

It was quickly approaching supper time and Frank remembered he hadn’t bothered to buy groceries. Not that he forgot to shop, he just hated to cook. He grabbed the car keys and headed to his favorite fast-food joint, Whataburger. Their burgers were almost twice the size of their competitors, and they made the shakes with real ingredients.

Frank received his tray of food and walked to an empty table at the corner of the restaurant. Before he could take a bite of his burger, a well-dressed Mexican man in his mid-forties sat down across from him. Frank, surprised by the intrusion, said nothing. He simply looked at the intruder and nodded.

“Buenas tardes Mr. Mason. If you have a moment, I’d like to speak with you about a potential business opportunity.”

“A business opportunity? I don’t even know your name, so why would you offer me a business opportunity? How do you know my name, anyway?”

“My apologies. Mr. Mason, my name is Alejandro Reyes. I operate several businesses on both sides of the Rio Grande. You were a customer of mine recently, but you didn’t know it.” Frank gave the man a puzzled look, but said nothing.

“I’m talking about the prize fight, Mr. Mason.”

Now he understood, or thought he did.

“I won that money fair and square. It could have been me on the alley floor instead of the big guy. I suppose you want your money back now.”

“No, no, sir, you have me all wrong. I don’t want the money. I want you to come work for me. You have a unique skill that will make us both a lot of money.”

“Mr. Reyes, what happened in the alley was a one-time only event. I have eight months left in high school, then I’m going to Yale University. Returning to Laredo or Nuevo Laredo is not in my future. I’m sorry you’ve wasted your time and the time of those two men over in the corner who have been following me for the last two weeks.”

“You noticed them. I’m impressed. Most 17-year-olds aren’t that observant.”

“Not that hard when the same car shows up every place I go. You might not know this, but my dad was a cop, and he taught me a few things about being aware of my surroundings.”

“Apparently, you paid attention. I like you Frank, and I hope we get to work together in the future. Not as a fighter, but as an associate. Enjoy your burger. Buenas noches.”

“Hasta que nos volvamos a encontrar, Mr. Reyes.” Until we meet again, thought Frank.

Chapter 4

The shadowing stopped after his meeting with Alejandro Reyes. Frank settled into the day-to-day life of a high school senior. His classmates thought it was really cool living on his own in his very own house. They didn’t see everything that lifestyle involved. He handled bills, house maintenance, groceries, and everything else involved with being independent.

It was the holidays that bothered Frank the most. With his parents dead and no close relatives, Thanksgiving and Christmas were truly the loneliest times of the year. Taking a trip to the Mexican side of the border to drown his sorrows called to him, but one close encounter with destiny was plenty. He celebrated Thanksgiving at the local Denny’s and had a Christmas dinner of enchiladas and fried ice cream at a downtown restaurant.

Frank’s birthday on January 8 was rapidly approaching, and he expected to celebrate it alone. To his surprise, several carloads of classmates pulled up to his house, horns blaring and shouting for him to come join them. Frank locked up the house and joined his friends. They arrived at a house decorated with birthday banners and balloons.

The party lasted for several hours until the revelers left as couples, leaving Frank and his two friends alone.

“Okay, Frank. Now it’s time to join the actual party,” said Miguel.

“What party?” Frank replied suspiciously.

“Just get in the car and you’ll find out,” was all the information Miguel or Juan would offer. They drove across the bridge and through Nuevo Laredo to a walled-in compound fondly referred to as Boy’s Town. This was not the place Father Flanagan had started for orphaned boys.

The 12-foot walls had only one entrance/exit. Inside stood twenty clubs with attached hotels. Miguel parked the car in front of the first establishment called Papagao. It sported a massive multicolored neon sign of a parrot. They exited the car and walked inside. The room was large and well-lit. Tables and chairs were in no particular order and customers sat wherever they liked. A long bar stood against the back wall.

What stood out more than the decor, or lack of one, was the scantily dressed women of all ages, shapes, and sizes.

“Is this what I think it is?” asked Frank.

“This is where you lose your virginity, my friend,” said Juan, followed by a loud laugh.

“I think I need a drink,” was all Frank could say, and walked to the bar.

The boys worked their way to the front of the packed bar and ordered three Cervezas. Miguel reached to pay when a voice from behind them said, “This round is on the house.” Frank turned to thank the man and saw a smiling Alejandro Reyes.

“You must like my business establishments, Frank. I must admit, I never expected to see you in here.”

Juan spoke before Frank, “Today’s his birthday and we’re going to buy him a real present.”

Reyes’s smile broadened into a full grin. “You have some excellent friends, Frank. In honor of your birthday, everything for you and your friends is on the house, including the ladies.”

The words no sooner left Alejandro’s mouth and Juan and Miguel were off to find some female companionship. Frank remained at the bar with Reyes.

“That was very generous of you, Mr. Reyes.”

“Frank, you must stop being so formal. All my friends call me Ali. I hope I can consider you one of them?”

“I’m just a kid and you’re a successful business owner. Why would you want me as a friend?”

“I see a lot of potential in you. I can also see myself as a young man when I look at you, but enough of this. It’s time for you to meet the lady of your dreams. Marisol, I’d like to introduce you to Frank, our honored guest.”

A short time after being introduced, Frank and Marisol left the bar hand in hand for her room.

Feedback Requested
4

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test9 months ago

    Great chapters. You have us hooked 💙Anneliese

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Your descriptive language in chapter 2 is great, I felt like I was in that dirty alley way with Frank! I love the intensity of the fight scene between Frank and Gordo, it’s well described and paced beautifully! Things just keep getting more and more interesting with Franks story! He a little to nonchalant when approached by characters that I assume are part of some sort of cartel, but I like that about him! Again this was a great set uo fro something more, very intrigued to see where this is going!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    You have very compelling characters and plot points. The only thing I would suggest is slowing down the narrative a little bit. Things happen quite fast, but i really enjoy the action when it happens. While chapters can generally be as short or as long as an author desires, a good rule of thumb is 1500-3000 words per chapter. I really like where this is going and I'm looking forward to learning more about Frank and his story. Good stuff, Mark! I hope my suggestions find you well :)

  • Tina D'Angelo9 months ago

    You always write like you've been there and done that. I'm almost afraid to ask who you really are because you might have to kill me if you tell me! I want to hear how you handle the whorehouse scenes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.