Critique logo

The Wizard of Oz

If I'm Honest, It Could Use A Little Work

By Dane BHPublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Critique Challenge
11

In this mostly Technicolor romp through thinly veiled metaphors, Judy Garland holds the audience - and herself - together through sheer force of will. A blend of innocence and ennui, of adventure and the homesickness that pulls you back, Depression-era audiences everywhere will wish they too could ride a tornado to Oz.

Movie
11

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Always found the ending anticlimactic. Great critique. I want to live my life in Technicolour.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very good mini critique.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Great mini critique. Well done!

  • E.K. Daniels8 months ago

    A nice contrast of the writing versus the film—indeed indicative of the times. Well done, and congrats!

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Great to see an up-to-date critique of one of my favorite works of American literature. Written in an earlier era of economic low, filmed in another. Well done and congratulations on your win.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    I don't mind it. She should have stayed in Oz...and maybe follow the red brick road! ;)

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I was not a lover of this film as a child, but it was my toddler daughter's fixation, and I found out it was outstanding.

  • This was fantastic! Excellent review!

  • Nice 💖🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.