Critique logo

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

"Beautiful things don't ask for attention."

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty
Photo by Mick Truyts on Unsplash

The short story? Naw, this is something new.

A masterclass in how to marry a soundtrack to jaw-dropping cinematography. What gem is this film and why is it not a model for Hollywood?

“Ground control to Major Tom…”

Our daydreamer hero saves no one but himself. Quintessence—what a beautiful word.

* * *

"Sometimes, I don't."

Movie

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh, I really love how you did this critique! 😍 Honestly, it's kind of like poetry in a way. This inspired me not only to watch this movie, but to try out this critique challenge - I've been staying away from it because I've felt it's too out of my realm! Awesome job, Mackenzie! I will be back to catch up on more of your work soon! ☺️❤️

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Mackenzie, what a phenomenal critique! You sold me. I want to see that movie.

  • Like Rachel, adding it to my ever expanding list, lol! Excellent review!

  • Great review. I agree with Hannah.

  • Rachael MacDonald10 months ago

    Adding it to my ever expanding list! Thanks 😁

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I actually feel inspired to watch this again through your lens here.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Wonderful! I wondered if anyone still read his work...or saw that film! Great Lewis Carroll quote, too.

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.