Critique logo

The Midnight Society

Critique for Dystopian Chapter Fiction

By Sarah MasseyPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
Photo By Aaron Burden

When I was just thirteen years old, I had the idea for this story. It was full of corruption, espionage, world politics, and maybe just slightly too ambitious for a kid. But I loved writing it. The research for how political power works, types of governments and their function, cold wars and espionage was endlessly fascinating. Crafting plot twist after plot twist, betrayal after betrayal, characters so real I could almost see them sitting before me was what gave me my kick start into writing. It got complicated, and twisted, and I was horrible at keeping up with notes, so I lost the trail of the plot and the enthusiasm to continue it.

Recently, I've picked it up again. Now that I have more real world experience as an functioning adult within a political system, I've rediscovered my enthusiasm for it. The first two chapters are up on my profile if you'd like to give them a read. I'll give you a quick run down of the plot thus far...

There was a pandemic that caused all humans on earth to be worn with a twin. Years later, they discovered one twin to be "Good" and the other to be "Evil". Because of this, the world governments decided to divided the whole world into two categories, Good and Evil, in order to keep the peace. The Good are allowed to live their lives as normal in the dayight and are citizens of the Daylight Society. The Evil are only allowed to come out at night and are citizens of the Midnight Society.

Every child must go through an assessment to determine which kind of twin they are, and separated into their appropriate society. This is when we meet our protagonist, Maria Mahoney, as she goes through her assessment. And then of course chaos ensues and she is thrown into the world of corrupt politics, espionage, and betrayal, all at the age of eleven. No one would ever suspect a silly little girl of being a political spy, right?

There might also be extraterrestrial beings, but I'm getting ahead of myself.

Getting back into this story, I wasn't sure how much of an escape from reality it would be. Going through a world pandemic where the whole world seemed to be divided into two groups, vaccinated and unvaccinated, it hit too close to home. Left a bitter taste in my mouth to write a silly fiction story about things I had actually experienced, and to do it in a dystopian genre just seemed to make it worse. We were alerady living in a dystopia of sorts. Wars, and rumors of wars, political figures that seemed to be controlled by someone other than themselves also seemed to be coming true before my eyes.

I'll admit, I was afraid that even if I did finish the story, no one would want to read it, or worse, they'd claim I was trying to profit off a collective tragedy. So, I set it aside for a year or two. Let things simmer down a bit. Ironed out a bit more of the espionage plot in the meantime.

I have always wanted my stories to be an escape from reality, not a heavy dose of it. Then I thought, I would add something so incredibly insane to the story that surely it wouldn't happen in reality. I added aliens, and alien technology, and how the aliens will help the protagonist get to the bottom of the plots surrounding her and set the societies right again. Surely aliens will be outrageous and never happen in my reality.

Welp, back to the drawing board. Or maybe I should quit while I'm ahead?

Read the chapters for yourselves. and leave your comments. I'd love to read and respond to them all. It's just like back in the day of Fanfiction.Net, and my early stories about Sherlock Holmes, eagerly awaiting to read comments from my fellow fans.

ThemeFictionFeedback Requested
1

About the Creator

Sarah Massey

Sarah is an animator and short film director at the birthplace of Route 66 Springfield, Missouri. A graduate of Drury University in the class of 2020, Sarah is published two fiction short stories in Drury’s Literary Magazine, Currents.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • S. A. Crawford7 months ago

    This story sounds incredibly interesting; I'll definitely be looking up those chapters. Sometimes an exaggerated form of reality is more cathartic than an escape; I vote you keep on writing and follow this rabbit hole as far as it will take you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.