Critique logo

Shakespeare's "The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark"

Feigning Madness Reveals Bitter Truths

By D. J. ReddallPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Critique Challenge
Laurence Olivier as Hamlet, 1948.

One of the most powerful parts of this play appears when its protagonist decides to pretend to be mad, the better to find out who others truly are. Ask anyone odd: the other humans will reveal themselves when you act strangely in their company. You will learn many, bitter lessons.

Play

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Ah, Hamlet. I have used this very picture of dear old Laurence and skull in a piece I have written today. Great critique and social commentary really too.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Too true. This is one of my favorite reads of all time. A great critique, and congratulations!

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    ooooh nicely put!! and congrats on your placement!!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Indeed. I like this take a lot! The only Shakespeare play I’ve read all of. It’s ace. 😊 A terrific mini critique and congrats on your prize. 👏

  • E.K. Daniels9 months ago

    So happy to see some Shakespeare well represented. Great job, and congrats!

  • Ava Mack9 months ago

    Congrats, DJ! I love this specific, important lens on the masterpiece that is Hamlet!

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    Although I have yet to read any other review of Hamlet, I am pretty sure this will be the best! Well done for capturing the essence of a work that everyone thinks they know but they probably don't. Congratulations on your win.

  • Congratulations on your placement! 🌈✨🌈✨🌈

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Osric is my favorite in the play. And I like your analysis here (Harold Bloom would be proud)!

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.