Critique logo

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

A 50-word critique

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
8
Percy Jackson and the Olympians
Photo by Pieter van de Sande on Unsplash

A middle-grade series, highlighting children with disabilities as demigods. In this world, differences are not hindrances, but superpowers. Follow Percy and his friends as they come of age while saving the world from Kronos. These Greek mythological stories made me feel seen and made my childhood magical. Thank you, Rick.

Essay
8

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I never got into this but this makes me wish I did!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I didn’t think the movie was all that great but you make the book sound inviting.

  • I've neither read the book or watched the films but I've heard a lot of good things about it! Awesome review!

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    What a great idea, flipping disabilities into superpowers. Great review!

  • S. C. Almanzar9 months ago

    Great critique! It seems like Rick Riordan inspired a lot of kids to have a love of Greek mythology. I also appreciate the effort he put into telling more diverse stories when it was not yet popular to do so in YA.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Great critique of a wonderful book series

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I’ve only seen the first film and have not read the books. Glad it can make people feel seen!

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I LOVE this series, especially the continuation with the Roman demigod kids. So compelling and I learned a ton about mythology. Great review!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.