Critique logo

Old Typewriter

acrostic poem/critique

By Mark GrahamPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
29
old typewriter (pexels.com)

This critique and acrostic poem will show readers why I chose this image for most of my writing.

Old-fashioned typing mode for the sound it made clickity-clack or something like that.

Learning to type material for others to read one page on paper at a time.

Deleting by erasing words and phrases with correcting tape.

Taking a person back to an easier time when writing was work at a somewhat slower pace.

Yearning to get typed and published on paper.

Praying the manuscript would not get lost in transit.

Expecting news about your work and getting a letter on paper.

Writing to share ideas again one page at time.

Reading a printed page of our work.

Indicating hearing a little bell telling you when at the end of a sentence or page.

Timing at a slower pace.

Editing one sheet at a time.

Reading and revising one sheet at a time.

An old typewriter is a way a writer can savor what he or she has typed on paper, as in something to hold whether one sheet or a manuscript of some kind.

PoetryFeedback Requested
29

About the Creator

Mark Graham

I am a person who really likes to read and write and to share what I learned with all my education. My page will mainly be book reviews and critiques of old and new books that I have read and will read. There will also be other bits, too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.2 months ago

    Wonderful job with this! I like how you included this in the Critque community - this is a very fresh perspective and really stood out to me. 🤗

  • Hey. It was nice. My grandma used it. I used to see it there.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Donna Renee2 months ago

    Hey this was really cool! I used to play with my grandmother's typewriter, but with how many typos I make I think a typewriter would run away from me!

  • Bravery TE Walker2 months ago

    Congrats on the top story and, despite the fact that I haven't grown up during the time of typewriters, I still love them. I'm hoping to one day get this bluetooth one, for the best of both worlds, but it is... so expensive.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Gosh, yes! I remember typing up all my uni essays on an old typewriter! My nephews tease me that I didn’t carve them out on tablets of stone! This was great!

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Beautiful, congratulations.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    I miss my Smith Corona. :(

  • I can almost hear the clicking <3

  • JBaz2 months ago

    At times I miss the old typewriter. The feel and the sound. But I also like this new style of how easy it is to edit and correct.

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    Awesome work- love the reflections on how the typewriter allowed a slower, more deliberate pace with writing! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    I keep talking about getting a typewriter...just to make all the noises lol. Loved your critique/acrostic and I have subscribed, although I thought I was already. Nevermind, fixed that. Congrats on a fine Top Story!

  • I've never used a typewriter to type before. Loved your acrostric!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.