Critique logo

Midsommar

A 50-word critique.

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
32
Midsommar
Photo by Mikael Kristenson on Unsplash

Ari Aster does it again.

Skip the popcorn because you'll want to vomit at 1 hour, 1 minute, 37 seconds in.

Watch in horror as this Midsommer night's terror takes viewers on a psychedelic journey, with an all-included burning bear.

Florence Pugh deserves financial compensation, and honestly, so don't I.

Essay
32

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Congrats on your leaderboard recognition Ashley!๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    LOL...read this the other day and meant to come back like and all that. From what I've heard of the film, as I've yet to see it (I know so so so so slow), you've nailed it haha! I like Ari Aster and love the trailers to his films or films he's involved in because they always hide a ton of crap haha! Well done on this awesome entry, Ashley

  • N.J. Gallegos 9 months ago

    This was great

  • LC Minniti9 months ago

    The skip the popcorn line was ๐ŸคŒ! Nice work.

  • Dulal Mondal9 months ago

    Excellent work. Looking to read another write up!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Florence Pugh is one hell of an actress. But Midsommar is one of the weirdest movies I have ever watched. Doesn't beat Infinite Pool in the weird department, though. LOL! Your review is excellent!

  • Great- Congratulations on your Top Story ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰โœจ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Love your review. Itโ€™s absolutely spot on! Terrifying movie. Iโ€™m psychologically scarred from watching this film! ๐Ÿ˜ณ

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    Excellent review. I love how the last sentence can be interpreted both ways. I was just checking out what's available on Amazon and they list Midsommar as available through one of their channels that I'd need to subscribe to. I guess I'm not doing that :).

  • Alivia Varvel9 months ago

    Love this! Just reaffirms my decision to never watch this movie. Great work!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Loved this critique! Congrats on your TOP STORY!

  • Your critique is so descriptive that I already know I'll be skipping viewing this. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Marvelous critique!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Iโ€™ve read much longer reviews that never got to the point. From what I know of it- this is dead on.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Lol so I only saw a couple scenes from this and omg already need some compensation! ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    I love Florence so much and I admire her acting in this film. But I agree with your assessment that this film is very grotesque. Great work

  • Rene Peters9 months ago

    It sounds good but I'm terrible with horror movies. Love the critique though!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    I haven't seen this one, but your review made me lol. Congrats on the TS

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Well, now I've got to watch it. I'm not sure why I haven't.

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Loved your review, even though Iโ€™ll never see this one. I canโ€™t do horror, but your thoughts made me laugh. Great work and congrats on top story!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I always put off watching this, despite it being highly recommended. I like to watch things that are lighthearted most of the time, and even American Horror Story can be pretty damn funny. But the person who insisted I watch this knows I love Antichrist, another disturbing horror film. I enjoyed your review and congrats on Top Story. ๐Ÿฅ‚

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Thanks! Iโ€™m still at work so Iโ€™ll post it tomorrow. Good night.

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    BTW since youโ€™re the only one to read Unmitigated Greed, I was thinking about posting the next couple of chapters if youโ€™re interested.. No worries if youโ€™re not, just let me know.

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Iโ€™ve never heard of it

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Sooo I guess this isnโ€™t one of your favorite reads? I probably wouldnโ€™t have read it anyway.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.