Critique logo

Mamma Mia!

Am I now a convert to musical stage shows? This one impressed me so much I can't explain it

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Photo: Le Laisser Passer via Wikimedia Commons

Hate musicals, not an Abba fan. Why then did the Mama Mia! stage show, which I attended reluctantly with work friends, delight me so? Was it the sumptuous Novello Theatre on London's Aldwych? Was it the stylish bar? Was it the upbeat crowd? Whatever it was, the production was excellent.

PacingSettingPlay

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    Now I like ABBA for the songs had a rhythm that really anyone can sing along with for I was only in junior high at ABBA's height in popularity though.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    I haven’t seen the musical and I’m not an Abba fan either. I did enjoy the movie a good bit. Nicely done.

  • Not a fan of musicals but I've heard very good things about Mamma Mia! Loved your review!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Not seen the stage show or been to the Novello so jealous about that last bit lol. Nice critique though, and well done for being honest and liking what you like. I actually like musicals, so I'm a little biased.

  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    Good movie, but not the best musical IMO. Good review, glad you like musicals now

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I am glad this show made you love the Mamma Mia ! Excellent and unique critique

  • Excellent and StylishπŸ’–πŸŽ‰πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜‰πŸ“

Raymond G. TaylorWritten by Raymond G. Taylor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.